Just for fans of Sex and the City …

All the hype around Carrie Bradshaw and Big hitting the big screen is giving me happy flashbacks to those weekly Sex and the City get togethers — 30 minutes with the TV and another two hours gabbing and laughing with friends. Sure, reruns are on almost every night of the week (or you can reserve the DVDs at the Library), but I seem to need more than that. What will fill that void after I see the movie? A book, perhaps? Here are a few novels I think Sex and the City fans might like; it’s a list for those of us who know it’s more than just the shoesbook cover of how to be single

How to Be Single by Liz Tuccilllo
Julie Jensen embarks on a tour around the world (France! Bali!) to research a book on single women’s experiences in other cultures, while her friends in New York deal with their own singledom. Tuccillo wrote the nonfiction book He’s Just Not That into You and worked on HBO’s Sex and the City.

Chasing Harry Winston by Lauren Weisenberger
Three friends (a chef, a book editor and one who is independently wealthy) vow to turn their lives around within a year in this witty and catty romp from the author who brought us The Devil Wears Prada.

Because She Can by Bridie Clark
Book editor Claire Truman seems to be on call 24 hours a day for her demanding, high-profile publisher boss, leaving her little time to sort things out with her perfect boyfriend. Reminiscent of The Devil Wears Prada, this time set in book publishing.

The Opposite of Love by Julie Buxbaumcover of book titled the opposite of love
Attorney Emily Haxby juggles tough cases, a dwindling love affair and a lecherous boss. This book brings added dimensions of the past and family into the fold, while still keeping the single-in-the-city perspective humor.

Me Times Three by Alex Witchel
Sandra, who works for a fashion magazine, finds out that her fiance has been cheating on her — not with just another woman, but with two other women. Lots of Manhattan insider info; Joan Didion (!) called this an “irresistible dissection of love in the city.” And the back cover says Sarah Jessica Parker loved it.

Party Girl by Anna David
Amelia works at a gossip rag called Absolutely Fabulous, tracking down stories on high-partying celebrities (think Paris Hilton). Can she cover the lifestyle of the rich and aimless without succumbing to it?

Killer Heels by Sheryl Anderson
Molly Forrester may remind you of Carrie Bradshaw: She’s a Manhattan magazine columnist and a shoe expert surrounded by a tight group of entertaining friends. The death of an ad exec at the magazine stirs things up into a light mystery (handsome male detective included).book cover for sex and the city

Pick Me Up by Zoe Rice
Gallery director Izzy Duncan’s life turns upside down when her gallery’s benefactor suddenly dies. Ardor may be clouding her judgment about her new boss, who seems intent on taking the business in a new direction. A Booklist review said there’s a “Sex and the City vibe” to this debut novel.

And let’s not forget Candace Bushnell, the author of Sex and the City, who has a new book, One Fifth Avenue, coming out in September. Bushnell’s other novels are Lipstick Jungle and Four Blondes.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Fiction, FILM & TV, LISTS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just for fans of Sex and the City …

  1. Mar says:

    Oh, great suggestions! I’d add SEEING ME NAKED and CONVERSATIONS WITH THE FAT GIRL by Liza Palmer for a little West Coast flavor.

    Marlene Perez

  2. Linda says:

    Mar, thanks for your great suggestions! And that reminds me of THE SECOND ASSISTANT by Clare Naylor and Mimi Hare — another West Coast read you recommended to me (and another of your recommendations I loved).

  3. Claire says:

    OK, I admit it–I was one of those gals who thought SATC was just about the shoes, but after reading Linda’s enthusiastic endorsement, I think I’d better reconsider.
    Claire

  4. misha says:

    FAB list! This will tide me over until I get the see the film–which may not be until it’s on DVD, unless I get a babysitter! Now, I just need to figure out how to avoid all of those spoilers that are bound to crop up in the meantime…

  5. martha brockenbrough says:

    What a great list! Now how am I supposed to get any work done this summer? :-)

  6. Kara says:

    And for anyone who hasn’t seen the movie yet it was brilliant! You get to see the shoes and the clothes and of course New York City, but most of all you see the amazing friendship these women have shared with each other. I laughed, I cried, and I totally checked out their outfits!

  7. Linda says:

    I saw the movie opening night — and it was completely satisfying. It took me a while (maybe 20 minutes) to get used to the characters being on the big screen instead of my 13-inch TV, but then I was swept up in the story and, as Kara said, the friendships and how these women stand by one another. If you’re not a fan — there really is no reason to see it.
    And to Martha — somehow I doubt anything slows you down when it comes to writing. Can’t wait for your book to come out this fall!

  8. Toby says:

    What about the book of love letters from the movie? Is it real? Do we have it?

  9. John Sheets says:

    Apprentice to the Flower Poet Z by Debra Weinstein sorta fits in here someplace, I think.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s