New Year’s Resolutions for Readers!

Now these we just might be able to keep!

1. I will reread a book I loved as a child.

2. I will finally read that classic from high school that I’ve been avoiding. 

3. I’ll find a book of poetry and read some aloud. 

4. I’ll spend an hour in aimless browsing at a library. 

5. I’ll read a book written in the year I was born.

6. I’ll create a journal and keep notes about the books and magazines I read.

7. I will assemble a list of my favorite people and send them my ideas about books -favorites, recent reads, and the like. 

8. I will read a book to a child.

9. I will gather a few friends and read a play out loud.

10. I will read a book on the history of my town.

11. I will read a book written from a political point of view totally opposite my own.

12. I’ll read a book about a place I’ve never been.

13. I will reread a book that I just “didn’t get” when I was eighteen.

14. I will read a book written by a non-American.

15. I will ask a librarian to show me some print and online resources for readers.

SO: What are YOUR New Year’s READING RESOLUTIONS?

This entry was posted in BOOKS, LISTS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions for Readers!

  1. Pingback: UW Libraries Blog

  2. Richard says:

    I am vowing to read something that I wouldn’t ordinarily go near, like a pageturner or a celebrity bio. I need to lighten up this year.

  3. linda says:

    What a great list! I’m inspired!

  4. bookworm says:

    What a great list. I want to read a children’s classic I’ve never read before, use the library more often, read more poetry.
    My full list is here: http://dearreader-bookworm.blogspot.com/2009/01/reading-resolutions.html

  5. Brandi says:

    David, what a great list! I think I will print this out and work my way through it over the course of the year. I am trying to think of something to add but all I can come up with is reading a book written in another language instead of one that has just been translated (like reading original Mexican poetry instead of A Series of Unfortunate Events translated into Spanish.)

    My resolution 2yrs ago was to create a GoodReads account and log *every book* that I read over the course of one year, which I did fairly faithfully. I may not have reviewed every book but I logged and rated everything I read. I still update my account sporadically but it’s great to have that consistent log of my year in reading.

  6. Sharky says:

    That’s a wonderful list. I will have to borrow those!

    I have two additional book-related resolutions: one is to read poetry every day, and the other is to make a series of artistic alphabet books for my nieces, who are 2 years old and 3 months old.

  7. Pingback: Reading, OCLC, and Gadgets « The Waki Librarian

  8. Paige says:

    I love this list! I guess I’m already behind, reading this in mid-January, but it’s never to late to make resolutions. One I would add for myself is to finally read a Sci-Fi or fantasy novel (any suggestions, for someone who prefers a “literary” style and would lean away from techno stuff?). Thanks!

  9. Pingback: Könyvtárosháza » Újévi fogadalmak

  10. Pingback: HUNRA-blog » Könyves fogadalmak 2009-re

  11. Pingback: Reading Resolutions « MOMerabilia

  12. Lillian says:

    I want to steal your list and adopt it for my own. May I?

  13. David W says:

    @Lilian: I don’t know – let me ask whoever I stole it from. Oop! ~ I forgot who that is!

Leave a Reply

