Science Fiction Fridays: The 5 best queer sci-fi reads of the decade

farthingFarthing by Jo Walton
Set in an alternate 1949 where Hitler won the war, Lucy and David become embroiled in a murder investigation and their only hope of exoneration is the work of a Scotland Yard investigator with secrets of his own. A wonderfully clever and dark murder mystery that has quite a bit to say about howgreen thumb dominate societies treat outsiders and the universal struggle for human rights.

Green Thumb by Tom Cardamone
In a post-apocalyptic world where life has evolved in unexpected ways, Leaf and his two-dimensional friend skate find their lives permanently altered by the arrival by Scallop and his father. This is the kind of book you’ll want to reread over and over, and annoy all your friends by forcing them to read it. It’s lovely, heart-breaking and so wonderfully original you’ll wish for more stories in this bewitching world.

germanThe German by Lee Thomas
A serial killer stalks the youth of a small town in Texas during WWII leaving cryptic messages written in German and an immigrant with secrets of his own becomes the main suspect. A disquieting novel that blends noir, horror and suspense to create something completely unforgettable. Fans of John Saul and Peter Straub will love the way Thomas plays with tension and release and the writing is achieves a strange alchemy of being both gritty and ethereal.palimpsest

Palimpsest by Catherynne M. Valente
In a shadowy city that exists between dream and memory, Palimpsest is a city where four very different people find either what they most desire or fear. This is a heady book that has lyrical and languid language that just rolls off the reader. Fans of Tanith Lee, Anne Rice and Neil Gaiman will love Valente and her unique take on queer genre lit.

martian childThe Martian Child by David Gerrold
A gay single father attempts to build a family with an odd foster child who may have extraterrestrial origins. One of the sweetest and most touching genre novels I’ve ever read, it hews very close to the authors real life experiences–but with a few little twists. While the narrative isn’t explicitly science fiction, its loving handling of the genre and exploration of underrepresented ideas and characters makes it a strong contender for queer novel of the decade.

This entry was posted in BOOKS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Science Fiction Fridays: The 5 best queer sci-fi reads of the decade

  1. roytak says:

    Where are you?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s