Science Fiction Fridays: 5 frightfully great books to start your October off right

necromancer's houseThe Necromancer’s House by Christopher Buehlman
After an irreverent wizard inadvertently kills the wrong man, he finds himself stalked by an unrelenting terror that won’t stop until everything and everyone loves is in ruins. The book starts out like a typical urban fantasy, with humor, myths and quips that wouldn’t be out of place in a Jim Butcher book. However, things turn absolutely terrifying pretty darn quick and keep getting more and more intense as the book progresses.fiend

Fiend by Peter Stenson
Two meth addicts coming down from a high find the world in the grip of a zombie apocalypse where staying alive is almost as hard as scoring their next hit. Funny, fast and furious, these is a great book for those that are suffering from zombie fatigue, but still like the idea of lots of mayhem.

germanThe German by Lee Thomas
A serial killer stalks the youth of a small town in Texas during WWII leaving cryptic messages written in German and an immigrant with secrets of his own becomes the main suspect. A disquieting novel that blends noir, horror and suspense to create something completely unforgettable. Fans of John Saul and Peter Straub will love the way Thomas plays with tension and release and the writing is achieves a strange alchemy of being both gritty and ethereal.stoker's manuscript

Stoker’s Manuscript by Royce Prouty
A rare book seller becomes a pawn between two ancient vampire cults as he tries to uncover the valuable secrets hidden in Bram Stoker’s classic tale of the undead. A slow-building gothic tale that offers some moments of sheer terror along with lots of tense psychological suspense.

plaguewalkerPlaguewalker by Gemma Tarlach
A brutish executioner sets off on a mission to find his runaway daughter after the plague decimates his entire village and puts him out of work. This dark fantasy has a nice dreaminess to it that is easy to get carried away in, but has vivid characterization that will make the whole thing stick.

This entry was posted in BOOKS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s