Localvore Love

avm.gifBarbara Kingsolver’s latest book, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life is account of her family’s commitment to growing and raising their own food and to purchase only local food. Those who love Kingsolver’s writing will also enjoy learning more about her localvore lifestyle. Her family’s passion for the subject is wonderfully brought forth in this deeply personal chronicle. As the book cycles through the seasons, Kingsolver conveys her appreciation for everything that grows in her garden and barn, from spring’s first asparagus stalk to Thanksgiving’s heirloom turkeys. She emphasizes how in-season foods taste the best and are nutritionally superior when harvested ripe. Daughter Camille and husband Steven make readers aware of political issues surrounding the local food movement and demonstrate how simple seasonal home cooking can be. This book will appeal to anyone concerned about where their food comes from. Even though the book addresses some political issues, readers will love this memoir for the passion Kingsolver brings to every bit of life on her farm.

I love nonfiction that keeps me interested in the topic long after I have finished the book. For me, the lasting effect of this book is a stronger commitment to eating locally. This past Thanksgiving, I made a pledge to eat local and I purchased only food grown in Washington State. I did most of my Thanksgiving grocery shopping at my Seattle neighborhood Farmer’s Market . Yum! Stay tuned for more on the local food movement.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening, Nonfiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Localvore Love

  1. Beth says:

    Even though I think I’m a conscious food-buyer and eater, I learned a lot of fascinating (and some appalling) information from this book about where our food comes from. But it’s really a happy book, and funny, too. It made such a big impression on me that I actually wrote away for the cheese-making kit that Kingsolver talks about in the book. The kit came in the mail, and a friend and I made our very own mozzarella cheese — it actually works, and it’s fun and easy. Kingsolver is inspiring without being preachy, and you may find yourself planting asparagus or raising chickens or making cheese after you read her book.

Leave a Reply

