Sissy Spacek does Scout

To Kill a Mockingbird  by Harper Lee

Read by Sissy Spacek

If you’re like me, you read this book in high school because you had to but don’t remember all the details.  Harper Lee’s great novel is considered a classic for tokillamockingbird.jpggood reason — it’s powerful and gripping and deals with timeless issues of growing up and prejudice.  And listening to this book is incredible – Sissy Spacek is the perfect narrator, her voice quirky and passionate and very believable as the young girl, Scout, who is wise beyond her years.  Even if you’ve already read this book, it’s definitely worth a re-listen.  I found myself looking forward to my bus commute so that I could tune back in to Scout’s world.

This entry was posted in BOOKS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sissy Spacek does Scout

  1. Linda says:

    It had been years since I read this book, and I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting it with Sissy Spacek reading it to me on my iPod. Her voice and cadence are a perfect match. My son (in middle school) did a triple-header with Mockingbird last year: he read the book for the first time, listened to parts of it on a car trip and then watched the movie with his family. It was wonderful to share this book with him.

Leave a Reply

