Metro Reads 2: What are you reading on the bus?

book cover for Roasting in Hell's KitchenDo you notice what people are reading? At a coffee shop? At the dentist’s office? On the bus? We notice — and not just because we work at a library. Sometimes we notice because we want a good book to read; sometimes we get excited because we read and loved that same book. Most of the time, though, we notice as a sort of exercise in urban anthropology.

Below are just a few of the titles Library staff members spied on their commutes home. Oh, your book isn’t on here? Your bus isn’t on here? Please let us know what you’re reading — and what you spy others reading on the bus.

Related Post: See what books were spied last month in Metro Reads.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Fiction, LISTS, Nonfiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Metro Reads 2: What are you reading on the bus?

  1. Sarra says:

    This is a great feature! I can’t read on the bus – I get sick if I do. 😦

  2. Laurie says:

    Today was the first time my daughter and I both read on the bus (43/44). She has just learned to read. She read Owl at Home by Arnold Lobel; I read a vintage YA novel called Libby-Come-Lately.

  3. Dest says:

    This morning I was reading The Intuitionist by Colson Whitehead on the U-District-bound 49.

  4. David says:

    Metro literature is great !
    On number 2 [Queen Anne route]

    Soon I will be Invincible – Grossman, Austin
    If you liked school, you’ll love work – Welsh, Irvine
    Fall of Cthulu Vol.1 : the Fugue – Nelson, Michael Alan
    Bigfoot : I Not Dead – Roumieu, Graham
    Orbiter – Ellis, Warren
    Vulcan’s Hammer – Dick, Philip K

  5. Sadie says:

    Reading on the #44 (Mocks Crest) in Portland, Oregon

    The Silver Swan – Benjamin Black

  6. Linda J. says:

    I can perfectly imagine an adorable little girl reading “Owl at Home” on the bus. That is a great image, and I’m so glad you shared it with us, Laurie.
    I rode the 77 today (from Maple Leaf to downtown), and I was too busy reading “Einstein’s Dreams” by Alan Lightman (getting ready for a book club discussion) to get book titles from the dozen or so readers I saw. It’s a quiet and smooth bus ride down the I-5 express lanes; just perfect for reading.

  7. January says:

    What’s so significant about bus reading? I mean, why stop there? What about the books people read while, as you mentioned, at the coffee shop or dentist’s office, or while waiting for a colonoscopy or standing in line for a movie or, for that matter, sitting in the library? People pretty much take whatever they’re reading wherever they go, so why not make a note of all the books you see and ask us to report what we’re reading in bed, on the job, at lunch, etc.? Besides, you’re missing out on a lot of literature enjoyed by bus riders, because you don’t know which podcasts or audiobooks they’re listening to. I dare you to ask them.

  8. Heather MW says:

    January;
    Oh we’ve thought of asking people what they are reading in lots of places. There will be more of these series in the future, guaranteed. And the audiobook thing is in the works as well. Librarians aren’t shy about asking people what they are listening to.

  9. Pingback: Worth Reading » What Are People Reading?

  10. J.S. Peyton says:

    I live in D.C., but can I play too? I’m always spying on what other people are reading on the bus and subway. Sometimes, I’ve even engaged a few in conversation. Case in point: I saw a woman reading “The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon the other day and I just had to ask how she was liking it. It was my favorite book of 2005 (or ’06 – I can never remember).

    In any case, today I read “Smoke and Mirrors” by Neil Gaimen on the S2 bus.

Leave a Reply

