Nightstand Reading: Kerry Colburn and Jen Worick

We asked local authors Kerry Colburn and Jen Worick to share their nightstand reads with us!

Being asked about our nightstand reads is like being asked to choose between children … but we will for the sake of SPL.

Jen’s nightstand: After reading A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness, which I loved, I went on a hunt for other academic thrillers (having already devoured books like The Historian and Ghostwalk). I plowed through The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell and Dustin Thomason, and am now reading The Oxford Murders by Guillermo Martinez. Then I plan on getting back to The Passage by Justin Cronin. I am sort of over both vampires and zombies (which may be literary sacrilege, I realize) but Cronin’s writing is so compelling that I’m willing to put my zombie disdain on the shelf.

Kerry’s nightstand: Having just finished Maile Meloy’s lovely novel  A Family Daughter, I found my nightstand empty last week (the horror!). So, I stole a book from my husband’s side: An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin. An interesting insider look at the New York art scene (with a killer endorsement by Joyce Carol Oates on the back), this book nonetheless doesn’t move me as much as Martin’s Shopgirl or my personal favorite, The Pleasure of My Company, a quirky and sweet gem of a book that I may just have to reread.

Editors’ note: Why not get your own book published and on nightstands across the country? Join Kerry and Jen at the Central Library on Saturday, April 2, at noon to learn how to “Publish Your Passion,” or check out their other publishing workshops at www.bizofbooks.com.

(Also, you can listen to Jen talk more about some of these books on the Seattle Bibliocafe Episode 7 podcast!)

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Fiction, Northwest Authors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

