If You Like Daniel Silva… (he’s coming to the Library!)

Come see #1 New York Times bestselling author Daniel Silva in conversation with Warren Etheredge at the Central Library’s Microsoft Auditorium, at 7 p.m., Monday, July 23.

Daniel SilvaI love July for the warmth and light to read a good book in the evening on the porch, and the sure and certain knowledge that I’ll have another installment of Daniel Silva’s superlative series featuring Israeli spy and assassin cum art restorer Gabriel Allon. (This July The Fallen Angel takes us all inside the walls of the Vatican, where I expect a much more interesting and realistic experience than my last literary visit there – sorry Dan Brown). Whether he’s ferreting out art treasures stolen by the Nazis, facing off against Russian arms dealers, or infiltrating jihadist terrorists, Allon never fails to provide a convincing and compelling focus for beguiling and complex tales of international intrigue. Silva manages to combine all the fun of a series hero with the style and thought-provoking moral complexity that readers expect from literary fiction.

If you’ve never tried Silva, you’re in for a treat. If you have, and grow wearing of waiting for Allon’s next adventure, here are some other authors of stylish and complex espionage that may help you through the other ten months of the year.

  • A Very Private Gentleman, by Martin Booth. He dreams of retirement, collecting butterflies and finding love in a small Italian town. The deadly assassins who are his clients have another plan.
  • A Spy by Nature, by Charles Cummings. Promising young marketing consultant Alec Milius finds a novel way up the corporate ladder, by becoming a private sector spy.
  • Requiem for an Assassin, by Barry Eisler. John Rain is a seasoned professional assassin, but don’t think he doesn’t have his doubts. This is Rain’s sixth adventure: will it be his last?
  • The Good Son, by Michael Gruber. When a group of pacifists is kidnapped in Pakistan, psychologist Sonia tries to connect with her captors, while her son attempts to rescue her from without.
  • Bloodmoney, by David Ignatius. This look at private sector spies infiltrating Pakistani terrorists has Ignatius’ hallmark: authentic detail and complex real world intrigue.
  • Istanbul Passage, by Joseph Kanon. As World War II comes to a close, Leon Bauer is given one last job by the allies, to smuggle a refugee to safety. But is he a Nazi war criminal?
  • The Silent Oligarch, by Chris Morgan Jones. As the man who launders the money for a corrupt Russian minister, Richard Lock likes to keep out of sight, but lately he’s started to attract attention.
  • Timebomb, by Gerald Seymour. In Russia, everything’s for sale, so who was the highest bidder for a newly discovered suitcase nuke buried since the Cold War?

You’ll find more suggested titles right here in our catalog. Come join us on July 23 for Silva’s live interview with Warren Etheredge. Books will be for sale, and Silva will be signing. Oh, and here are some reading suggestions from Daniel Silva himself:

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s