Wide Open Spaces

posted by Kara F.

Far away far away, I want to go far away.

To a new life on a new shore line.

Where the water is blue and the people are new.

To another island, in another life…

(from Far Away by Ingrid Michaelson)

I was lucky to grow up in a DIY environment since the women in my family have all been blessed with something like a “creating” gene. Smells of baking and crocheted projects lying about were just a part of my childhood. My dad was the fixer-upper working in the garage or the garden out back. We had rabbits I took care of and of course my favorite activity – climbing trees! This all took part in the city so urban homesteading has always fascinated me, but getting back to the land calls me too.

Camping was another huge part of my upbringing. Our family campground on the Olympic Peninsula will always be a comfort for me as it was where my grandpa taught me how to swing an ax, make a fire, and gut a fish. Both of these loves for the land and for creating called to me most recently on a trip to Whidbey Island where I visited Greenbank Farm.

I fell in love with their pie café overlooking the duck pond, their sweet little wine shop, and their cheese and specialties store! I purchased a jar of apple butter to make my hand pies and purchased a bottle of dessert wine for a future special occasion. I held on to my bag with a smile on my face and hoped one day I could have a little slice of heaven like this one. Here are some great books that resonate with all my DIY values:

Dirty Life

The Dirty Life: On Farming, Food, and Love
by Kristin Kimball

While interviewing an organic farmer, city girl Kirstin opens herself up to a whole new life.

 

 

Made From Scratch

Made from Scratch: Reclaiming the Pleasures of the American Hearth by Jenna Woginrich

Jenna illuminates the balance between creating a home and being a modern woman.

 

 

Homeward

Homeward Bound: Why Women are Embracing the New Domesticity
by Emily Matchar

Emily brings us back to our DIY roots without sacrificing all we’ve worked so hard for.

 

For more information on farms in our region check out these awesome links:

http://www.whidbeyfarmtour.com/

http://www.cascadeharvest.org/

http://www.localharvest.org/csa/

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening, Nonfiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

