Nightstand Reads: Django Wexler, author of ‘The Forbidden Library,’ shares what he’s reading

forbidden libraryWe are thrilled to have local author Django Wexler, author of  The Forbidden Library (and oh, do we ever love this one!), as our guest blogger today. We recommend it for fans of Inkheart by Cornelia Funk and Coraline by Neil Gaiman. You’ll also want to check out his adult debut, The Thousand Names (2013). We asked Mr. Wexler to tell us what he’s reading.

I am perpetually behind in my reading — there’s a giant stack of books on the end of my desk that seems to only get bigger and bigger! I generally have two going at once, one in paper and one as an audiobook for driving, exercise, and painting. Here’s what I’ve enjoyed recently:

The Lies of Locke Lamora and Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch. These are actually re-reads, or in this case re-listens. I went through both of these in hardback back when they first came out and loved them, but now that I’m finally getting around to the third volume (The Republic of Thieves) I wanted to reacquaint myself. As I remembered, they’re wonderful: complex and compelling characters and an incredibly vivid fantasy world. Michael Page’s narration in the audiobooks is a joy, too, although some of the gravelly voices he does make my throat ache in sympathy!

Three Parts Dead by Max Gladstone. A book I had often been urged to read, and now I see why. It’s a great, dark, weird fantasy with magic, law, finance, and the resurrection of dead gods. I finished it and immediately went to get the next book in the series. (Two Serpents Rise, with the third, Full Fathom Five, soon available.)

The Revolutions by Felix Gilman. I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of this from the publisher, but it’s now been released, so I can encourage everyone to check it out. I’ve been a big fan of Gilman’s fantasy westerns, The Half-Made World and The Rise of Ransom City; this is something very different, but equally cool, a sort of Victorian occult SF story about a secret society and a voyage to Mars. Speaking of which —

The Martian by Andy Weir. This fantastic book is the story of an astronaut trapped on Mars after a failed mission, and his struggle to survive. As a writer it’s both impressive and instructive — Weir’s voice is so strong and engaging that he keeps the reader rapt even with a very simple structure and plot. In particular, anyone with an interest in science will love this one.

lies of locke lamorared seas under red skiesthree parts deadthe revolutionsthe martian

This entry was posted in BOOKS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

