Immigration from the Tops of Trains

By Richard C.

Click here to view Enrique's Journey in the SPL catalogEnrique’s Journey
By Sonia Nazario

I remember so vividly the beginning of Moby Dick when Ishmael says “…whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul… then, I account it high time to get to sea as soon as I can.” The full quote is truly golden. Like Ishmael, whenever I have a similar drizzly feeling – lately about the news – I make my way to the library.

Recently doing so, I found Pulitzer winner Sonia Nazario’s Enrique’s Journey: The True Story of a Boy Determined to Reunite With His Mother. Enrique is a sixteen year old boy in Honduras who sets out to find his mother who’s working in the United States. From the tops of trains to run-ins with criminals, crooked cops, and other perils I can hardly imagine, Enrique’s story humanizes a topic that, while not new at all, is so currently notable in the news today. An updated version of the story adapted for young people is now available, too.

No matter one’s views on immigration – legal or not –
I love finding books about the Click here to view Enrique's Journey in the SPL cataloglives of those I would otherwise only glimpse (poorly at best) through the 24 hour news cycle. Yet I shouldn’t be too critical; Sonia Nazario did begin her book as a Los Angeles Times series.  This is a great read for anybody with any view on immigration, especially those getting, like me, a damp and drizzly feeling about this gut-wrenching topic.

Want more? Place a hold now on recently acquired 2014 book Immigrant Voices 21st Century Stories or check out some instant documentaries about immigration integrated right into the library’s catalog.

See you at sea, or perhaps the library!

This entry was posted in BOOKS, History and Biography, Nonfiction, Teen Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Immigration from the Tops of Trains

  1. Becky says:

    “Which Way Home” is a fascinating documentary that follows migrants who travel from Mexico to the U.S. atop trains. It is available from the library on DVD and via streaming video.

Leave a Reply

