Meet Drag King Ernie Von Schmaltz at Banned! Books in Drag

ernie von schmaltz

For our Banned! Books in Drag event at Neighbours Nightclub hosted by David Schmader this Saturday, Sept. 27 (6:30-9:00 p.m.), we asked Drag King Ernie Von Schmaltz, about his first LGBTQ book:

 

A pivotal LGBTQ book I remember reading and re-reading is Leslie Fienberg’s Stone Butch Blues.  I first read it 10+ years ago when I was starting to be more interested in LGBTQ literature. As I read, it struck me as such a harsh piece of work, the character in the story goes through such horrific things in order to survive, just for being visibly butch and/or gay.  But in the same way it was startling in its harshness, it was also so eye opening to realize that even though this story is (supposedly) a novel, so many of the things the main character Jess had to endure really happened.  It really opened my eyes in a personal way about people in the LGBTQ community that had lived before me, and what it might have been like to be yourself in a time of less social tolerance and acceptance.  To me, this book bridges the gap between historical stories about “gay people a long time ago” and real lives of friends and loved ones.  As I have read and re-read this book over the years, I continue to think of it as iconic must-read for anyone in the LGBTQ community and beyond.

Come meet Ernie and our other amazing drag performers Saturday night! We hear Ernie puts on quite a show!

This entry was posted in Events, LOCAL INTEREST and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

