Freegal: Five for Free


~ posted by Cameron M.

Due to recent changes in the matrix, Seattle Public Library patrons are now allowed five free song downloads a week from Freegal, up from the previous allotment of three weekly downloads.  Let’s take a look and see what’s available.

Daft Punk – “Contact”
This transmission is coming to you from somewhere in outer space. The French electronic DJ duo may have finally fully transformed into the funky digital disco robots they’ve seemingly always wanted to be. “Contact” is the closing track on the group’s 2014 album, Random Access Memories. And for what it’s worth, also my favorite cut on the album.

Hozier – “Take Me to Church”
When I hear this song, I can’t help but think about how messed up this singer (Hozier) is on love. I also can’t help but think that this song is really catchy despite its darkened tone, somewhat similar to Foster the People’s 2010 hit “Pumped up Kicks” (also available on Freegal). If this song is not included on the soundtrack for the upcoming film adaptation of Fifty Shades of Grey, I’ll eat my proverbial hat.

Meghan Trainor – “All About that Bass”
“Because you know, I’m all about that bass, ‘bout that bass, no treble” – Meghan Trainor
This ear-wormy, pop nugget just might be this generation’s “Baby Got Back.” Well, maybe the “Bootylicious” of the new generation, because like Chaka Khan might say, “ain’t nobody, does it better” than Sir Mix-A-Lot. Chaka Khan’s “Ain’t Nobody” and Destiny’s Child “Bootylicious” are both also available for download on Freegal.

Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
I don’t think I’ve ever listened to this song before, however based on the artists involved, I’m sure I’ve already heard it blasted over terrestrial radio and commercial television. In my mind’s ear, it sounds like a danceable jam with some horns, keys, and maybe a drum break or two. Bruno probably sounds great, as always. Update: I’ve since listened to the track and my assumptions were in fact correct, except that I hadn’t heard it before.

Pitbull ft. John Ryan – Fireball
Pitbull was the halftime entertainment during the Dallas Cowboys’ Thanksgiving Day football game this year. Singer John Ryan is featured on this track. Jon Ryan is the punter for the Seattle Seahawks. The words “Fireball” and “Football” share 62.5% of the same letters. If all of this does not mean that Jimmy Hoffa is buried underneath the Meadowlands, then Nicolas Cage might be crazy.

This entry was posted in databases, MUSIC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

