Get Your Banh Mi On

— posted by Kara F.

Photo by Kara F.

I love banh mi! Those amazing Vietnamese sandwiches have occupied many coffee shop visits with friends. However, finding time to go get my banh mi fix can be somewhat of a pain. But then…The Banh Mi Handbook: Recipes for Crazy-delicious Vietnamese Sandwiches by Andrea Quynhgiao Nguyen crossed my path one day at work and when I opened the cover I saw just how easy banh mi can be to make at home!

I set aside a day off to accomplish the task of banh mi for dinner. First mission was to track down maggi sauce. I decided to head to Pike Place Market to accomplish my task then planned on walking the waterfront before hopping on the water taxi home. I took the bus from West Seattle, got off at Pike and walked down and, low and behold, there was the Oriental Mart — and of course they had maggi sauce!

I wasn’t sure how long the water taxi ride would be so I opted to get my produce at my local grocery store. I also knew for sure they carried daikon radish and that was the second hardest thing on my list to find. I made my way down to the waterfront to find it completely under construction. I ended up taking a wrong turn and back-tracking so I had a 30- minute wait for the next taxi, but it was a beautiful 74 degree day, perfect weather for taking a ride on the water.

The water taxi is one of my favorite things about my city. It has a beautiful views surrounding it and once at Alki there is a free shuttle that takes you up to the Junction. Shortly after my arrival to Alki the shuttle showed up to take me home. Once I was back in my neighborhood I got my produce and headed to my kitchen. I grilled up the chicken from the recipe in the book, prepped my vegetables, and got the carrot and daikon pickled. Now it was time to construct the sandwich. It was so quick and easy, plus absolutely delicious. But don’t take my word for it; get your banh mi fix by making it yourself!

Here are three more books in our collection for banh mi inspiration (book covers link to books in our catalog):

eating viet nam banh mi 75 vietnamese home cooking

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening, Nonfiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

