Book Bingo: Books to Re-Read

     – Posted by Selby

This summer The Seattle Public Library, in partnership with Seattle Arts & Lectures, is Book Bingo Re Readexcited to offer a summer reading program for adults called Summer Book Bingo! In order to help you along on your quest to complete your bingo sheet, we have pulled together some book suggestions based on each category. Stay tuned for more throughout the summer!

There are many reasons to re-read a book. Perhaps there were many plot twists and turns and you didn’t feel like you got everything the first time. Or maybe the message was very simple and worth revisiting. I generally don’t read a book more than once. After all, there are so many books out there to read that I feel I should always be pushing into new territory. However, there are a few books that I personally feel are worth rereading. I’m sure you can find some of your own.

Tao of PoohI absolutely advocate rereading the Winnie the Pooh books by A.A. Milne, but The Tao of Pooh is not one of his works. Instead it is a book explaining the philosophy of Taoism through the characters and situations in Milne’s beloved children’s book. I have actually read this book a number of times and find it worth coming back to every few years. It is not a religion book, per say, more a reminder to look at the world with wonder and take challenges with a relaxed mind.

AlchemistAlmost every college student who reads Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, suddenly feels like they need to go on a long journey of self-discovery. I was no different, although when I read it I was already on an amazing journey as a Peace Corps volunteer. Now that I am older I think I will revisit this book and see if I can’t gain more insights or perhaps solidify that I chose the right path.

BornToRunA few years ago the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougall hit store shelves and inspired many to start running. I was one of them. I enjoyed it, but like most things, running fell to the side lines when other priorities surfaces. Now that the weather is nice and the sun is staying out longer it would be good for me to get back into. Perhaps rereading Born to Run will spark my running dreams, again.

The books I have chosen to reread all have a personal growth slant, but you can read anything that you have read before. A classic from your childhood or the first book in your favorite series would do nicely. For some interesting writing on the value and experience of re-reading books, check out Rereadings: Seventeen Writers Revisit Books They Love, Anne Fadiman, editor.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Library Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

