Following My Nose

~posted by Kara

I spent a weekend in Tacoma enjoying the Taste of Tacoma at Point Defiance Park, which involved wine and beer tastings, fried oysters and a BBQ pork bun. It was a wonderful little food adventure. To be honest though, I have been spending more and more weekends off in Tacoma gallivanting with my boyfriend and visiting friends and I have been very surprised by its foodie side. In honor of those little delectable wonders, here are three books in our collection that bring to mind our little sister to the south and how her well rounded foodie-ness is taking me over!

What Katie Ate on the Weekend by Katie Quinn Davies
These delicious dishes are easy to make for a weekend filled with friends and family whether it’s a late afternoon brunch or a smoothie on the patio. Its photography is colorful and vibrant; this second cookbook confirms the talent that is Katie Quinn Davies. The book called to mind my food adventures to Happy Belly for their Green Machine Smoothie after an intense workout at the YMCA and my favorite breakfast spot, Savor, for my favorite crepe filled with shredded pork, mushrooms, cabbage slaw, and Hoisin Sauce.

Cheesemonger’s Seasons: Recipes for Enjoying Cheeses with Ripe Fruits and Vegetables by Chester Hastings
You can’t really go wrong with cheese, but what is helpful is knowing what to pair it with to make it a meal. Another cookbook filled with beautiful pictures; very drool worthy. I found a little cheese haven in Tacoma called Stink and before I even tried their food they won me over with their business card, which read: The New Aroma of Tacoma. I sat down for the first time it was with a blue cheese, mango chutney, and turkey sandwich with five mushroom soup…it was to die for!

Jamie Oliver’s Comfort Food: The Ultimate Weekend Cookbook by Jamie Oliver
This cookbook is now on my book shelf at home because every single recipe deserved attention and needed to be a staple in my life. I really enjoy Jamie Oliver as a chef and as an advocate for healthy food that tastes amazing! His dishes called to mind Hilltop Kitchen’s inspired dishes from regions abroad, but it’s the use of local ingredients that makes these incredible dishes pop. Their menu changes, which just makes me want to come back over and over again.

And Smoke + Cedar…I could make a home there, with a view of the Allenmore Golf Course and bottomless brunch mimosas. My go to dish to share with friends is their dirty fries, a delectable take on poutine with crispy pork belly scraps, pepperoncini, jalapeño, parmesan, herbs and you MUST ADD sawmill sausage gravy! Definitely not healthy, but I think Jamie would approve.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

