What To Read After “The Martian”

~posted by Misha

The_Martian_film_posterThe upcoming film The Martian starring Matt Damon, Jessica Chastain and Kate Mara is bound to be big this fall. The trailer reels you in with an edge-of-your-seat tension that captures the book’s appeal. I must admit that even though I read and enjoyed the book, I still felt absolutely rapt by the film trailer. It looks really good!

So, if you have already read Andy Weir’s bestselling debut The Martian and are looking for more books like it, or are waiting for your chance to read it, here are some other hard science novels to try in the meantime:

Gravity by Tess Gerritsen is a bio-thriller in space about a deadly organism that invades a space station and the crew’s attempts to save themselves and make sure the biohazard never makes it to Earth.

Seveneves by Neal Stephenson the moon explodes and scientists and civilians alike need to figure out how to keep life viable after its loss. This books also makes the science of survival utterly riveting.

Rescue Mode by Ben Bova finds the first mission to Mars threatened when a meteorite strikes. Will they survive to prove that colonization is possible or become a cautionary tale?

Gravity by Tess Gerritsenseveneves.2jpg

Rescue Mode by Ben Bova

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other hard SF authors to try: Stephen Baxter, Greg Bear, Greg Egan, Nancy Kress, Alastair Reynolds, Peter Watts and Robert Charles Wilson.

If you are looking for science fiction with action and humor, try:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline mixes humor and throwback 1980s videogames in the future dystopian world. The audiobook is narrated by the beloved Wil Wheaton.

Scalzi brings wit to everything that he does, but start with Old Man’s War to get a taste of his character-driven, playful science fiction.

If you are looking for other riveting tales of survival and space exploration, try:

Artemis Awawkening by Jane Lindskold. First in a series.

Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson, the first in a trilogy, explores the ecology and politics of humans resettling on Mars.

Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke is about a group of space explorers who encounter an asteroid in space that turns out to be hollow and full of mystery. The first in a series.

ReadyPlayerOne RD 1 finals 2

ArtemisAwakening

Red-Mars-Book-Cover

Rendezvous with Rama

 

 

 

 

 

The Martian was likely inspired to mix space exploration with ecology from the classic Farmer in the Sky by science fiction grand master Robert A. Heinlein.

Need more suggestions of what to read next? Check out our Your Next 5 Books service for you own personalized list!

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Fiction, Science Fiction, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What To Read After “The Martian”

  1. Edouard says:

    Thank you for the great suggestions ! As soon as I have some time again to read sci fi I will keep your books ideas in mind !

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s