A Fall Of Pie

~posted by Kara F.

One of my favorite things about the arrival of fall is getting back into the kitchen to bake. Cookies, cakes, breads, and most importantly PIE!

I found three lovely pie books from the library and decided to focus on one recipe from each book located in their fall sections. Now the one thing I did not follow was the pie crust recipe. I know how to make pie crust since it was passed down to me from my mom and that’s one tradition I can’t replace. Although our pie crust is nothing fancy, it’s what I’ve grown up with. I’ll even tell you the secret…its Betty Crocker’s Basic Pie Dough.

Happy Baking!

A Year of PiesA Year of Pies: a Seasonal Tour of Home Baked Pies by Ashley English

Rosemary Bourbon Sweet Potato Pie: The flavors in this pie worked amazingly well together, the sweet, the savory, the crunch, but it was a lot of work. I’d recommend taking a day to play with this one and you could always cheat a bit like I do with boxed pie dough.

First Prize Pies

First Prize Pies by Shoo-fly, Candy Apple & Other Deliciously Inventive Pies for Every Week of the Year (and More) By Allison Kave

Peanut Caramel Apple Pie: This pie was like a peanut topped caramel apple encased in magic! Now, I cannot stress enough to be very careful and stay focused when it comes to the filling, because you are dealing with caramel …other then that, enjoy!

Four & Twenty Blackbirds Pie Book

The Four & Twenty Blackbirds Pie Book: Uncommon Recipes From the Celebrated Brooklyn Pie Shop by Emily Elsen

Salty Honey Pie: This pie was my favorite just cause I’m a huge fan of custard and it reminds me a bit of the chess pie they make in the south, but it’s also very unique in its own right. It’s sweet, so go small with your portion, but fair warning, you may just go back for seconds and thirds!

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening, Nonfiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Fall Of Pie

  1. I’d add in: The Hoosier Mama Book of Pie by Paula Haney. Absolutely delicious!!

Leave a Reply

