Food And Dating

~posted by Kara F. 

One of the best things about the past year with my boyfriend Adam has been discovering our mutual love of food. We’ve searched for new restaurants to try together, showed off our favorite diehards, and have both created kitchen perfection for each other.

Here are a few of our favorite dishes:

Adam’s Cranberry Salsa: Adam and I started dating mid-September, which led to the official “we are couple” moment to occur shortly before the holidays. Adam was a good sport about it all, agreeing to come to not one, not two, but three Thanksgivings…true test right there. As contribution to the day Adam made a lovely cranberry salsa. Not only did I love it, but plenty of the women in my family swooned as well; my cousin Debbie actually texted me weeks later to ask for the recipe. Find the recipe here.

Kara’s Apple Crumble: I had a few jars of apple pie filling my mom had made so I planned for one of my first mornings with Adam to involve baking apple crumble. I packed my overnight bag, grabbed my bake ware and a few pantry staples, and off I went to spend the night. I was a bit nervous, but excited to show my kitchen skills with baking. Even though Adam is a master at the grill, I’d like to think I do pretty well with the art of the oven. Find a similar recipe here.

Adam’s Dry Aged Steak: Yup, dry aged steak…never have I had anything so amazing made by the hands of a man. Adam bought two lovely boneless rib eyes and dry aged them for 96 hours and threw them on the grill. Because of the dry aging process the meat was phenomenal and the fat was crispy and flavorful. I am normally not a fan of fat on a steak, but now I have been ruined for all other steak; I’ll admit he is a true meat master. Find a similar recipe here.

Kara’s Mini Chicken Pot Pies: We’ve been eating out quite a bit so I wanted to do some easy home cooking. I have a few ramekins in my cabinet and thought I could make some mini pot pies! Now I totally cheated when it came to making them, because it could take all day if you want it to, so I procured a whole baked chicken from the grocery store, purchased my vegetables, and bought crust in box. I’ve found that once I add all my little additions of spices and broth it’s just as delectable. I think Adam agreed. Find a similar recipe here.

Her cookbook shelf

Date Night InHandmade GatheringsDirty Food

Date Night In: More than 120 Recipes to Nourish Your Relationship by Ashley Rodriguez

Handmade Gatherings: Recipes & Crafts for Seasonal Celebrations & Potluck Parties by Ashley English

Dirty Food: Over 65 Devilishly Delicious Recipes for the Best Worst Food You’ll Ever Eat! By Carol Hilker

His cookbook shelf

MeatLodge Cast Iron NationWeber's New Real Grilling

MEAT: Everything You Need to Know by Pat LaFrieda

Lodge Cast Iron Nation: Great American Cooking from Coast to Coast by The Lodge Company

Weber’s New Real Grilling by Jamie Purviance

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening, Nonfiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

