Clean Your Plate 2016

~posted by Micah K.

Do you have a New Year’s Resolution around fitness or food this year? This list is for you. These are some of the best Paleo cookbooks I have read this winter. Let me tell you a secret though: I’m not Paleo. However, as someone with a lot of food allergies, I find that Paleo cookbooks are a great resource for finding recipes that automatically meet all of my dietary restrictions. For folks who are avoiding grains, dairy, soy, legumes, or sugar as part of a New Year’s Resolution, these cookbooks have a wealth of delicious recipes and ideas. And even if you do eat all those delicious things, Paleo recipes center on vegetables and protein, providing you with the sustenance to meet your fitness goals. Enjoy! 

The Frugal Paleo Cookbook by Ciarra Hannah

Looking to eat more cleanly without breaking the bank? This cookbook by Ciarra Hannah contains 100 paleo recipes that work with your pocketbook without sacrificing taste. My favorite recipe so far is the Paleo Beef Stroganoff, and all of the recipes I’ve tried have been spectacular, so spectacular that I bought my own copy! SPL also has an eBook version available in Kindle, EPUB, and Overdrive Read if you prefer to read with an eReader.

Against All Grain by Danielle Walker

Danielle Walker makes eating clean look good in this book full of small bites, entrees, and sweet treats. Her book contains so many recipes that are so delicious it is hard to believe they are Paleo. I’m excited to make her Pulled Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches with Coleslaw, Carne Asada Burrito Bowls, and Pumpkin Donuts with Maple-Bacon Glaze. Yum!

Juli Bauer’s Paleo Cookbook by Juli Bauer

Y’all, let me tell you something about this gem of a cookbook. I have won hearts and stomachs over with Juli Bauer’s chicken tenders. My friends and roommates who normally have no interest in eating with me beg me to make these chicken tenders. This cookbook doesn’t stop there; she has so many other delicious entrees, desserts, and even cocktails.

The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook by Mickey Trescott

Before I rave about this cookbook, let’s talk about mayonnaise. This cookbook has the best recipe for egg-free mayo. If you are allergic to eggs, vegan, or just want to try a new take on mayonnaise, go no further: place a hold on this book, and make this mayonnaise. I didn’t realize it was possible for mayonnaise to be a crowd pleaser, but this one is! Mickey Trescott really delivers with lots of delicious allergen-friendly and Autoimmune Protocol-friendly recipes. When you have a limited diet, it is easy to feel bored with your food options. The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook is a delightful way to introduce creative, new recipes into your diet. Trescott even includes four weeks of meal plans for you!

 

This entry was posted in Food and Gardening, Nonfiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

