Bus Reads for April

First off, I moved to Tacoma. I gotta say I never thought I’d move from Seattle, but life happens and between rent increases and a boy I made the plunge to the sassy sister to the south! One of the many highlights of my move has actually been my bus commute. That’s not something you hear every day, but the 90 minutes now has become my quiet time to devour books and devour them I have. The plan is to share my plethora of reading with you, which seems to be about four ebooks a month at this point and I average about 80 pages a trip. I’ll attempt to stay away from books that have already been posted and best sellers because really they get enough attention. Enjoy the ride!

A Trip to the Stars Find A Trip to the Stars in the SPL catalogby Nicholas Christopher was a wonderful read. The connections the author uses to unite characters while they are separated from each other was beautiful and magical. The chapters go back and forth between the nephew that is ‘lost’ yet found and the aunt who struggles to find herself after her nephew goes missing. I was completely enthralled with each page and the secondary characters added another level of interest. It was a bit longer than I usually grab for a bus book, but so very worth it.

The Dept. of SpeculationFind Dept. of Speculation in the SPL catalog by Jenny Offill was a small book that took no time to read; it felt along the same vein as Fates and Furies, which I finished in January. In this novel, though, the narrator is the wife, and while discussing all the little things that make up a marriage and the loss of self, she intertwines literature and art. Although it is a short book, the observations, themes, and messages stay with you longer than expected. It’s a bit choppy, but I liked it, almost as if you are riding along her train of thought and witty in its moments of sadness. It’s an odd thing to laugh when someone is feeling that way, but I did.

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End Find Being Mortal in the SPL catalogby Atul Gawande was a book recommended to me by a friend. We both have a family member suffering from Alzheimer’s and it’s a crazy thing to see what it does to them and your family. This book talks about what we do in this country when things get to the point where quality of life comes into question. It gives background to the independent living idea as well as experiments that have succeeded, and how some places have failed in the original concept the creator had in mind. It addresses our problem with prolonging life, and doing everything we can to live longer despite what is does to us. Also preparing for the possibility of hospice, what that can accomplish, and the questions we need to ask our loved ones in this time of their lives to make these life decisions easier for all of us. Even though I had a hard time getting through it, as it took me two checkouts because I got a little depressed, I still recommend this book for every single person, ever!

~posted by Kara F. 

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Fiction, Nonfiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

