Bus Reads for November

bus-reads-november

The Regional Office is Under Attack by Manuel Gonzales. First off swearing and lots of it, which I love because for some reason it makes me giggle over and over and over again. But secondly, great female leads, which I also love because woman are amazing and have far more depth then often portrayed. We go back and forth between these two women, Sarah and Rose, and their stories involving the Regional Office, the history of their beginnings, and why it’s being attacked. There’s a lot more to it than that, but NO SPOILERS! Just take my word for it; it’s a truly entertaining read!

Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley. So although I’m not quite there, I mean I have the boyfriend and the discussions of rings and a wedding have begun, but this book made me feel so very normal. I had about three years of weddings in my twenties and now that I am at the very beginning-beginning stages of thinking about my own, I know for sure what I don’t want. Lucy is definitely a kindred spirit, wanting to maintain her feminist ideals and non-traditional wedding, but hold dear to the things that matter (like crafts and food) to truly represent her and her partner in crime.

Butterflies in November by Audur Ava Olafsdottir. I’d have to say being dumped once is one thing, but twice!?! Then top it all off with the unexpected duties of caring for a friend’s mute child…but that’s what jump starts a road trip that’s quirky, weird, and wild; in Iceland no less and all the wonder that landscape beholds. What originally drew to this story was its location. Iceland still seems like such an untouched and mythical place, I long to see if for myself someday. The second thing that pulled me in…well, it does have November in the title…happy reading!

~posted by Kara F.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Fiction, Nonfiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

