New Nonfiction Roundup – December 2017

Get a head start on 2018 with host of health, fitness and self-improvement books.  A pair of essays from great thinkers and a pair of memoirs from fierce survivors round out December.

12/5: Bobby Flay Fit: Food for a Healthy Lifestyle by Bobby Flay. The popular chef returns with a new cookbook for people interested in healthy foods that don’t sacrifice flavor.

12/5: Brunch is Hell: How to Save the World by Throwing a Dinner Party by Brendan Francis Newman & Rico Galliano. The hosts of NPR’s Dinner Party Download eschew leisurely brunches for lively dinner parties.

12/5: Global Discontents: Conversations of the Rising Threats to Democracy by Noam Chomsky. The noted linguist and political thinker discusses the troubling world we find ourselves living in today in a series of new interviews.

12/5: How Not to Die Cookbook: 100+ Recipes to Help Prevent and Reverse Disease by Michael Greger. Plant-based recipes grounded in nutritional science are featured in this companion to the bestseller How Not to Die. 

12/5: Improv Nation: How We Made an American Art by Sam Wasson. A history of improvisation, a uniquely American art form that emerged in the second half of the 20th century.

12/5: The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish. The stand-up comedian and star of Girls Trip talks about her troubled childhood in this collection of fearless essays.

12/5: No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters by Ursula K. LeGuin. The science fiction and fantasy author reflects on aging, the state of the world and more in this collection of sharp essays. A Peak Pick! 

12/5: Whole30 Fast & Easy: 150 Simply Delicious Everyday Recipes for your Whole30 and Whole30 Your Daily Guide to Whole30 Success by Melissa Hartwig. A cookbook and a companion guide for the Whole30 diet program. Whole30 Fast & Easy is Peak Pick!

12/12: The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir by Maude Julien. A harrowing memoir from a survivor of abuse at the hand of her parents who tried to “eliminate weakness.” For readers of The Glass Castle

12/19: Waking Up in Winter: In Search of What Really Matters at Midlife by Cheryl Richardson. Take a journey with the author as she reassesses all aspects of her life and sheds the things that no longer serve a purpose.

12/26: The Engine 2 Cookbook: More Than 130 Lip-Smacking, Rib-Sticking, Body-Slimming Recipes to Live Plant-Strong by Rip Esselstyn. The latest book from the Texas firefighters features more than 130 plant-based recipes.

12/26: The Little Book of Lykke: Secrets of the World’s Happiest People by Meik Wiking. Discover why Denmark is home to the happiest people on the planet through the six principles of  lykke (pronounced LOO-ka).

12/26: Live Lagom: Balanced Living, The Swedish Way by Anna Brones. Live intentionally and fully through lagom (not to little, not too much), a balanced lifestyle perfected by the Swedes.

12/26: Meditation for Fidgety Skeptics: A 10% Happier How-To Book by Dan Harris. The author of the bestseller 10% Happier demystifies meditation and makes it accessible for skeptics who would benefit from it the most.

12/26: You Need a Budget: The Proven System for Breaking the Paycheck to Paycheck Cycle, Getting Out Of… Debt, and Living the Life You Want by Jesse Mecham. The author outlines four rules to successfully adhere to a budget and gain financial independence.

~ posted by Frank B.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening, History and Biography, Nonfiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s