New Nonfiction Roundup – April 2018

Memoirs that tackle addiction, motherhood and war. Celebrations of food through recipes and reflections. And politics, politics, politics. April has it all! 

4/3: Factfulness – Hans Rolling. The recently deceased TED speaker identifies ten instincts that will help us discern fact from fiction.

4/3: Look Alive Out There – Sloane Crosley. The third collection of funny and topical essays from Crosley will not disappoint!

4/3: My American Dream – Lidia Bastianich. The popular cookbook author’s journey, from Communist Yugoslavia to the Big Apple, is revealed in this inspiring memoir.

4/3: The Recovering – Leslie Jamison. The author of The Empathy Exams recounts her recovery from alcoholism in one of the spring’s most anticipated memoirs.

4/3: The Road to Unfreedom – Timothy Snyder. An examination of the rise of authoritarianism in Russia, Europe and America. From the author of On Tyranny

4/3: See What Can Be Done – Lorrie Moore. The first collection of essays, criticism and commentary from the acclaimed short story writer.

4/3: Things That Make White People Uncomfortable Michael Bennett. The former Seahawk and social justice advocate tackles racism in sports and elsewhere.           A Peak Pick!

4/3: To The Promised LandMichael Honey. The UW Tacoma professor examines Martin Luther King’s lesser known legacy for economic justice.

4/3: Wade in the Water – Tracy K. Smith. The latest poetry collection from the U.S. Poet Laureate.

4/10: And Now We Have Everything – Meaghan O’Connell. An unexpected mother shares her struggles and frustrations in this frank and honest memoir.

4/10: Fascism – Madeleine Albright. The former Secretary of State, who grew up under Nazi regimes, cautions us about the fascist tendencies of several world leaders today.         A Peak Pick!

4/10: Natural Causes – Barbara Ehrenreich. The author of Nickel & Dimed puts her PhD in cellular immunology to work as she examines America’s approach to living longer, if not necessarily better. A Peak Pick!

4/10: North – Scott Jurek. The ultrarunner tackles his greatest challenge yet – all 2,189 miles of the Appalachian Trail. From the author of Eat & Run

4/10: Sharp – Michelle Dean. A profile of ten women writers of the 20th century whose sharp wit and observations challenged the male-dominated status quo.

4/17: Dinner Illustrated – America’s Test Kitchen. 175 meals you can cook in under an hour, from America’s most trusted kitchen, with step-by-step photos.

4/17: Eat A Little Better – Sam Kass. Healthy recipes, with an eye towards sustainability, from the former chef to the Obamas.

4/17: God Save Texas – Lawrence Wright. The author (Going Clear), a lifelong Texan, reflects on the contradictory nature of America’s second most populous state.

4/17: A Higher Loyalty – James Comey. The former FBI director talks about ethical leadership and responds to President Trump. A Peak Pick!

4/17: How To Write an Autobiographical Novel – Alexander Chee. Part memoir, part writer’s guide from the gay Amerasian author of The Queen of the Night

4/24: The Best Cook in the World – Rick Bragg. A tribute to Bragg’s mother and authentic Southern recipes. From the author of All Over But the Shoutin’

4/24: First, We Make the Beast Beautiful – Sarah Wilson. A memoir about conquering anxiety combines practical advice with humor and heart.

4/24: The Girl Who Smiled Beads – Clemantine Wamariya. The author and her sister escape Rwandan genocide as young girls and are separated from the rest of her family in this unforgettable memoir. A Peak Pick!

4/24: The Magnolia Table – Joanna Gaines. A collection of 125 comforting classic recipes. For readers of The Magnolia Story

4/24: War on Peace – Ronan Farrow. The journalist and former State Department official laments the decline of American diplomacy.

~ Posted by Frank B.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s