#BookBingoNW2018: Award-Winning Authors

I’m sure you have heard of the Newbery Medal, Man Booker Prize, Hugo Award, and many, many other author awards. In addition to these well-known awards, let me introduce you to a few newer ones and their winning authors.

Black Caucus American Library Association (BCALA) Literary Award, established in 1994, recognizes African American authors in both fiction and nonfiction. Some of these outstanding works are listed below:

Grace by Natashia Deon follows the life of a runaway slave and her daughter. Deon’s writing is beautiful and gives you an intense conclusion. This won the Fiction Award in 2017.

The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore was the Nonfiction winner in 2011. This fascinating book is a memoir of the author and also the story of another boy who grew up in a neighborhood nearby with the same name.

Chasing Utopia by Nikki Giovanni won the 2014 literary award by using simplicity and humor in this collection of poems that are part memoir.

Grace The Other Wes Moore Chasing Utopia

The Wellcome Book Prize is awarded to a new fiction or nonfiction book that engages medicine, health, or illness in some form as a central theme. The idea is that these books will encourage debate about medical topics. Enjoy these books which have won the award in the past few years.

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews was shortlisted for 2015. It tells the story of two sisters, one amazingly successful  trying to commit suicide and the other trying hard to not sink lower — and keep her sister alive at the same time.

Our Lady of Alice Bhatti by Mohammed Hanif was shortlisted for 2012. This book is a dark and comic tale of an ex-convict Christian nurse and her Muslim boyfriend.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi was shortlisted in 2017. This is a true story about a neurosurgeon who discovers he has inoperable lung cancer and his transition from doctor to patient. After his death, his wife wrote the epilogue.

All My Puny Sorrows Our Lady of Alice Bhatti When Breath Becomes Air


Founded in 1980, the Dos Passos Prize is awarded to an under-recognized American author in the middle of their career. It’s named after John Dos Passos who was a great writer and who is sometimes overlooked. Here are some the authors who have received this prize:

A Gesture Life by Chang-rae Lee won this award in 2017. The book I selected is a haunting story of a Japanese man successfully fitting in while living in New York. We get to see his life start to unravel as his history in the Japanese Army during World War II unfolds.

My Year of Meats by Ruth Ozeki won in 2014. This story is of two women brought together by the U.S. meat industry. This is an entertaining story alternating between two women brought together by the meat industry, while also exploring some sordid secrets of meat production.

John Henry Days by Colson Whitehead won in 2012. His retelling of the American Legend John Henry is through a journalist attending John Henry Days. With humor, it traces the history of John Henry.

A Gesture Life My Year of Meats John Henry Days

For more ideas for books to meet your Summer Book Bingo challenge, follow our Shelf Talk #BookBingoNW2018 series or check the hashtag #BookBingoNW2018 on social media. Need a Book Bingo card? Print one out here or pick one up at your Library. Book bingo is presented in partnership with Seattle Arts & Lectures.

~ Posted by Meranda T.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: