Library Reads for March 2019

Here’s a list of 12 novels releasing in March that librarians across the United States are recommending. And because librarians made this list, you’ll also find a “read-alike” entry at the end of each description. Why a read-alike? They work two ways: If you recognize the suggested read-alike title as one you enjoyed before, it lets you know that this new title is one you might like, too. The other way read-alikes are helpful is that they tend to be older and more widely available titles. If there’s a long wait list for the featured title, and it sounds like the perfect book for you, the suggested read-alike may be something you’d also like — and can get quickly. You’ll notice that in the descriptions for the new 2019 books that librarians often add a line along the same lines, such as “if you liked Gillian Flynn, try this one.” In a nutshell, this monthly list has solid recommendations, with insightful guidance for a variety of reading tastes.

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing: An incredible, dark, twisty psychological thriller with two of the most seemingly normal but disturbingly depraved people you will read about in fiction. This brilliant debut needs to be at the top of your must-read list. For readers who like taut suspense and works by Gillian Flynn, B.A. Paris, and Mary Kubica. ~ Rachel Reeves, Weatherford Public Library, Weatherford, TX
Read-alike: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward: Maddie, the innocent travel writer, and Jo, the wild child, are living quite the life abroad when Ian crosses their path and changes both their lives permanently. Moving backward and forward in time, the narrative slowly reveals hidden truths. For fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware. ~ Selena Swink, Lake Public Library, Lake, MS
Read-alike: Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

The Bird King by G. Willow Wilson (a Seattle author!): Lush and wonderful language, characters, and worldbuilding make this an enjoyable read for fans of historical fantasy. The relationship between concubine Fatima and mapmaker Hassan is multifaceted and compelling. A good choice for readers who liked Uprooted and City of Brass. ~ Nora Walsh, Princeton Public Library, Princeton, NJ
Read-alike: The Lions of Al-Rassan by Guy Gavriel Kay

A Dangerous Collaboration by Deanna Raybourn: In this fine addition to the series, Veronica Speedwell joins Stoker and his brother on an island off the British coast, attempting to solve a years-old mystery about the disappearance of a young woman on her wedding day. Recommended for fans of historical Victorian fiction, murder mysteries, and lepidoptery. ~ Jill McKinney, Gunnison County Library, Gunnison, CO
Read-alike: Lady Travelers Guide series by Victoria Alexander

The Last Woman in the Forest by Diane Les Becquets: A suspenseful, surprising story that begins with every woman’s worst nightmare–a breakdown on a lonely road in the middle of the night and a bad feeling about the handsome guy who stops to help. This kick-in-the-gut start leads to a more thoughtful mystery with a big twist. Recommended for fans of Lee Child. ~ Patricia Uttaro, Monroe County Library System, Monroe, NY
Read-alike: The Wild Inside by Christine Carbo

The Last Year of the War by Susan Meissner: The story of two teenage girls who forge a life long friendship in an internment camp in Crystal City, Texas. For fans of historical fiction and readers who enjoy stories about immigration experiences and life during wartime. ~ Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
Read-alike: Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

The Library of Lost and Found by Phaedra Patrick: Martha Storm volunteers at the local library and has a tendency to help others over taking care of herself. One day she receives a mysterious book from the grandmother she believed dead and begins digging into her family’s past. Who doesn’t love a book about books? For fans of Elizabeth Berg and Fredrik Backman. ~ Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library, Genesee, MI
Read-alike: The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan

Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss by Rajeev Balasubramanyam: When Chandra fails to win the Nobel Prize in Economics, again, then suffers a heart attack, he decides to make changes in his life. A humorous journey of self-discovery similar to Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. ~ Lora Bruggeman, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL
Read-alike: This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance! by Jonathan Evison

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams: Queenie, a 25-year-old British-Jamaican woman, struggles to have a sense of purpose after being dumped by her white boyfriend. This humorous and timely debut sheds light on society’s fetishization of black women and its impact on family, relationships and mental health. ~ Molly Riportella, Westwood Public Library, Westwood, MA
Read-alike: New People by Danzy Senna

The River by Peter Heller: A love letter to the great outdoors. Both adventure story and elegant nature writing. Two college students on a canoe trip face a wildfire, white-water rapids, and two mysterious strangers. For fans of Tim Johnston and Dave Eggers. ~ Sara Kennedy, Delaware County District Library, Delaware, OH
Read-alike: The River at Night by  Erica Ferencik

Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid: Like the best episodes of Behind the Music, this chronicle of the rise and fall of a fictional ’70s rock group is impossible to resist. You’ll be tempted to look up the band’s hits, only to disappointedly remember that they don’t exist. A great rock ’n’ roll ride for readers. ~ Becky Bowen, Kenton County Public Library, Erlanger, KY
Read-alike: Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby

The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths:  The author of the Ruth Galloway novels pens a chilling, atmospheric standalone. After a colleague is found dead, English teacher Claire Cassidy discovers messages from the murderer in her own private journal. Perfect for fans of both classic gothic horror and contemporary murder mysteries. ~ Dawn Terrizzi, Denton Public Library, Denton, TX
Read-alike: The Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

~ posted by Linda J. 

One thought on “Library Reads for March 2019”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s