Library Reads for June 2019

Ten books coming in June that librarians across the US are loving.

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes
Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.  ~ Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ 

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin
Ayesha puts aside dreams of poetry and works in Toronto as a teacher to repay debts to her family. A deep-rooted family trauma ties Khalid to his controlling mother and gives him a rigid understanding of the world. Can these two young Muslims forge a healing path? A sweet modern romance perfect for readers of The Wedding Date and The Kiss Quotient. ~ Ariel Yang, Forest Grove City Library, Forest Grove, OR 

Call Your Daughter Home by Deb Spera
Three strong women support each other through tough times in 1924 South Carolina. Gertrude, Retta, and Annie unite against injustice in their small town in this beautifully written story in which time and place come to life. For readers who enjoyed The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Invention of Wings. ~ Suzy Card, Grapevine Library, Grapevine, TX 

City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert
Free-spirited Vivian recounts her life, focusing on her formative years in the 1940s. Nineteen and new to NYC, she became the costumer for her aunt’s struggling theater company. Colorful characters, misadventures, triumphs, and trials populate this fun, frolicking read. For fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. ~ Sonia Reppe, Stickney-Forest View Public Library, Stickney, IL

Fix Her Up by Tessa Bailey
After her brother’s best friend (and her longtime crush) Travis is injured, Georgie makes it her goal to bring him back to the land of the living. When he needs help cleaning up his wild image, she is happy to help…and maybe score some action on the side. A funny, endearing, and spicy romance. For readers of Christina Lauren. ~ Jessica Batten, Marion County Public Library System, WV 

Kingdom of Exiles by Maxym M. Martineau
An epic fantasy love story that hooks readers from the beginning with its expert world-building. The characters are skillfully crafted, realistic and sympathetic. Readers will look forward to continuing the journey in this new series. For fans of Whims of Fae by Nissa Leder and Blood Oath by Raye Wagner. ~ Leanna Frankland, New York Public Library, New York, NY

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey
A blend of fantasy and murder mystery. Magic meets noir, throw in some romance and some witty dialog and you have a great pick for summer reading. For fans of Jasper Fforde and the Charley Davidson novels.  ~ Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga Public Library, Cuyahoga, OH 

Mrs. Everything by Jennifer Weiner
A sweeping story about sisters Jo and Bethie, following them from their 1950s roots in Detroit to the present day. This novel is both heart wrenching and funny, and readers will cry and laugh with them along the journey. For fans of Juliet McDaniel’s Mr. and Mrs. American Pie. ~ Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twisnburg, OH

Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim
Natalie inherits her grandmother’s restaurant in quickly-gentrifying Chinatown in San Francisco. A tea leaf reading tells Natalie she must cook three recipes from her Grandmother’s cookbook for her neighbors who are being pushed out in order for the restaurant to succeed. For fans of The Recipe Club: A Tale of Food and Friendship and Like Water for Chocolate. ~ Meghan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library, Scranton, NY

Recursion by Blake Crouch
Compelling and accessible to the non-science-fiction reader. It is a suspenseful, thought-provoking book about altered memories, and how technology can be used for good, or for ill, or should never be used at all. For fans of Michael Crichton. ~ Will Harbauer, Toledo Library, Toledo, OH 

~ posted by Andrea G.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s