Queer Comics for LGBT History Month

October is LGBT History Month! Let us celebrate and read some recently published comics and graphic novels by queer creators and about queer characters and stories!

The American Dream? by Shing Yin Khor. Shing is a cartoonist and installation artist out of Los Angeles, California. After immigrating to America and then becoming a citizen, they decided to go on a road trip down the entire length of historic Route 66 in their Honda Fit with their dog, Bug. Shing sees all of the must-see sights, camps, gets tired of sleeping in their car, and ponders the route’s complexities and relationship to the concept of the American Dream. For fans of The Seattle Walk Report, The Best We Could Do, and Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us.

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell. From the writer of This One Summer comes the story of Frederica Riley, a queer teen girl living in Berkeley, California. Freddy’s girlfriend, Laura Dean, is one of the coolest people in their high school, but really isn’t a great partner. Sometimes Laura is into Freddy, other times she ghosts her or isn’t faithful. This beautifully rendered teen drama ruminates on ideas of friendship, obsession, coming-of-age, queerness, and mental health. For fans of Drama, I Married My Best Friend to Shut My Parents Up, and On A Sunbeam.

My Solo Exchange Diary vol. 2 by Kabi Nagata. In this third volume from manga creator Kabi Nagata, following My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness and My Solo Exchange Diary vol. 1, Kabi updates us with her ongoing struggles with her mental health, maintaining friendships, reconciling her feelings towards her family, and nurturing her own feelings of self-worth. For fans of My Brother’s Husband and Cannonball.

Stage Dreams by Melanie Gillman. A reliable source of mine just went to a reading with Melanie Gillman and described the book this way: “In a place where no one knows you, it’s easy to go from damsel in distress to damsel of success. When the outlaw Ghost Hawk-Flor to her friends- abducts trans runaway Grace, it’s a love of acting and adventure that leads them to team up and crash a Confederate Gala. These swashbuckling spies storm Santa Fe, making Stage Dreams a queer and quintessential story of the American west.” For fans of The Sixth Gun, The American Dream?, and Coyote Doggirl.

Want more? Check out this Bibliocommons list with additional recommendations!

~posted by Mychal L.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s