Library Reads for November 2019

Librarians across the country have chosen the ten books coming out in November that they’re most excited about.

The Starless Sea  by Erin Morgenstern
A moving labyrinth of a story, ever changing and evolving. What begins as a mysterious thread in a book, an opportunity taken or missed and the consequences of the choice, evolves into a story similar to a choose-your-own adventure tale or a mystical video game experience. For fans of Neil Gaiman, Susanna Clark, and Lev Grossman.
~ Cynde Suite, Bartow County Library, Cartersville, GA

The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams
Thea gave up everything when she became Gavin’s wife, and has been faking more than just her happiness. When the marriage is headed for divorce, Gavin’s friends bring him into their secret book club to help him win his wife back. For readers who like romance with a little humor, and fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Jennifer Crusie.
~ Melissa McNeill, Montgomery County Memorial Library System, Conroe, TX

The Deep by Rivers Solomon
An incredibly interesting reimagining of what happened to the slaves that got thrown off the ships while crossing the ocean. For fans of She Would Be King by Wayetu Moore and The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates.
~ Kelli Ponce, Mesquite Public Library, Mesquite, TX

Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert
Chloe is doing all she can to avoid being defined by her illness. Redford is a talented artist who was verbally abused by his former girlfriend. Smart and snarky, they find ways to help each other face their challenges. Snappy dialogue, dynamic characters, and a realistic story make this a good choice for fans of Alyssa Cole and Jasmine Guillory.
~ Paula Pergament, Lincolnwood Public Library, Lincolnwood, IL

Little Weirds by Jenny Slate
Weirdly delightful and beyond compare. Essays that provide a look into the comedian’s brain. For fans of Miranda July.
~ Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

Not the Girl You Marry by Andie J. Christopher
A perfect contemporary romance that will make you laugh, swoon, and maybe even get a little weepy. Hannah is a heroine for the ages, prickly, real, and worth fighting for. For readers who loved How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days.
~ Elizabeth Gabriel, Milwaukee Public Library, Milwaukee, WI

Tracking Game by Margaret Mizushima
This is a terrific series with characters that are constantly changing. I’m so excited to see what happens to them next! A good pick for fans of Nevada Barr.
~ Liz Kirchhoff, Barrington Area Public Library, Barrington, IL

Twenty-one Truths About Love by Matthew Dicks
Daniel Mayrock is struggling to find his way as a man, husband, and potential father. His story is told entirely in lists. Written as a form of therapy for himself, Daniel’s lists show his sense of humor and feelings of inadequacy. Funny, sad, uplifting but always relatable. A must read for fans of Rachel Joyce and Gabrielle Zevin.
~Sam Sepulveda, Milford Town Library, Milford, MA

We Met in December by Rosie Curtis
A lovely charmer of a book. Jess follows her dream and moves to London and rents a room in a big Notting Hill house with one rule – no dating your flatmates. For fans of One Day (even mentioned in the book), Four Weddings and One Day in December.
~ Stephanie Chase, Hillsboro Public Library, Hillsboro, OR

The Witches are Coming by Lindy West
Lindy West takes on rape culture, climate change, Hollywood and toxic masculinity among other topics. It’s funny, relatable and on-point. For fans of Rebecca Solnit and Roxane Gay.
~ Shari Suarez, Genesee Districy Library, Goodrich, MI

But wait, we’re not done there!! Two additional titles out this month are on the Library Reads Hall of Fame list, earned once an author has had three or more titles appear on the monthly lists since 2013.

The Confession Club by Elizabeth Berg
What starts as a simple supper club transforms into something special when one member reveals a very personal secret. Berg continues her Mason, MO, series with a story that exudes goodness, warmth and solid friendships. A surefire winner and hot book club pick!
~ Ron Block, Cuyahoga County Public Library,
Brooklyn, Ohio

The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell
Gothic and creepy, this is the tale of an aging London mansion taken over by a strong-willed con artist happy to prey on the minds of the eccentric family living there. I look forward to each Lisa Jewell release and The Family Upstairs does not disappoint.
~ Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

 

~ posted by Andrea G.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s