WA Do I Read Next? (Part 1)

The Washington Library Association met online this year instead of in Spokane. Most years there is a panel focused on Washington authors with the cheeky title “WA Do I Read Next?” This year I had the pleasure of joining this panel event online with other librarians and local authors to celebrate recently published books by authors from our fair state.

Here is a list of many of the books we talked about in this panel, and here are just some of the books I had the honor of sharing with the audience:

88 Namesby Matt Ruff
The new HBO show Lovecraft Country produced by Jordan Peele and Misha Green may have brought more attention to Matt Ruff, but he has been quietly writing smart, genre-bending stories for years now. 88 Names is a riff on virtual reality, where John Chu makes his living as a “sherpa” in Multi-player Role Playing Games, where the rich come to rack up points and prestige fast. This is an offbeat cyber-thriller for fans of Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One and Ready Player Two.

The Fixed Stars, by Molly Wizenberg
I find serial memoirists so fascinating–they open their messy lives to us with regularity, and let us peek in. Admit it–there is a vicarious thrill that these kinds of memoirists provide. Wizenberg first made a splash with her cooking blog Orangette, and her memoir with recipes, A Homemade Life, where she also detailed meeting her future husband online. Her second memoir., Delancy, shares how she and her husband opened a pizza restaurant in Seattle. But The Fixed Stars is her most intimate yet as she discovers, after the birth of her daughter, that she feels surprisingly attracted to women and femmes. This memoir proves that it’s never too late to come out and find your truth even if it explodes the life you thought you wanted. Wizenberg also weaves her reading and research on sexuality and love throughout, making it great for fans of Maggie Nelson’s The Argonauts.

Become America, by Eric Liu (Sasquatch)
We live in a world where it is easy to feel defeated and give into despair. Eric Liu is an exuberant voice telling us that we have the power to affect change, that society is how we behave. This collection of essays invoking reckoning and repair just won the WA State Book Award. This Thursday, Seattle Public Library is hosting a virtual Evening with Eric Liu: more information and sign up here (registration required).

     ~ Posted by Misha S.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: