#BookBingoNW: Published in the 1920s

Book Bingo is taking us back in time to the 1920s! Books published in the 1920s made up most of my English curriculum and though it was often hard to love a book that was assigned, that century on its own has held a lot of fascination for me, especially now, a hundred years later.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (1925)

This was one of the few books assigned to me that stuck and stuck hard. I fell in love with Gatsby’s world, this idea of trying so hard to battle where you come from. The thought of losing oneself to become what someone else wants no matter the cost was mind blowing to me. But also the visually stunning landscape, the decadence, when Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby film came out it felt like it was made for me. It had all the beauty and the darkness visualized perfectly, with an amazing soundtrack! Continue reading “#BookBingoNW: Published in the 1920s”

Panic on the Rails in our Thrilling Tales podcast

Two trains speed toward each other in a blizzard, as a killer wanders the night! Melodrama on the rails, in this week’s Thrilling Tales: Storytime for Grownups, available now! On May 20, 1920 the readers opening the new issue of Metropolitan magazine were captivated by a heart-stopping tale entitled The Signal Tower, by Wadsworth Camp. Never heard of him? Neither had I! Most of the details we know about the man come from biographies of his daughter Madeleine L’Engle, the beloved author of A Wrinkle in Time. Camp was known in his day as the author of several excellent mystery novels, many of which were adapted to the stage or screen. Continue reading “Panic on the Rails in our Thrilling Tales podcast”

Missing the Library? Us, Too…

There’s a good chance you are longing for the days when you could simply walk into the library to pick up a book, watch a DVD, browse the internet or peruse the rest of the endless available services and materials. You’re not alone! So, in the spirit of the library being closed but many services still being accessible, we bring you a list to immerse you back into the wondrous world of libraries (and all things associated with)!

35111748. sy475

The Library: A Catalogue of Wonders by Stuart Kells

If you have ever had any inclination to learn about libraries, their history, and what they mean to those around the world then Kell’s book will be a great introduction into the world of a bibliophile. From Kirkus Reviews: “More miscellany than catalog, the book assembles snippets from a wide variety of disciplines into an eclectic history of libraries as cultural, political, aesthetic, literary, mnemonic, and, above all, personal phenomena dedicated to collecting and preserving the written word.” Continue reading “Missing the Library? Us, Too…”

The Odd World of the Tiger King

If you are like the rest of America, you may have seen the documentary “Tiger King” on Netflix.  The weird mix of true crime, eccentric characters, and cute tiger kittens left me wanting more. Get your quirky fix with these reads!

Continue reading “The Odd World of the Tiger King”

Try these Children’s eAudiobook Series on Overdrive!

Stuck inside and looking for entertainment the whole family can enjoy? Try these three outstanding eAudiobook series available on Overdrive!

Alcatraz Series, Book 1: Alcatraz vs The Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson, read by Ramon De Ocampo

[Children’s Fantasy, Humor] For fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch

Alcatraz Smedry isn’t just some kid. Growing up in multiple foster homes, he has found that he has a knack for breaking things. No, he REALLY BREAKS THINGS. He’ll break the toaster he’s trying to use, he’ll break the counter the toaster sits on, heck, he’ll even break the kitchen! He even broke a chicken once – don’t ask. It’s not like he means to break things. He just can’t control it…but what if he could? What if he was secretly a member of a royal family of all powerful Smedrys? Each with their own unique abilities, waiting to be harnessed for the good of the world! Wouldn’t he have learned about this already? Well, not if the secret society of Librarians who secretly rule the world would have anything to say about it! Did I mention they are Evil Librarians? At least they are according to this old man he has just met, who claims to be his grandfather. Continue reading “Try these Children’s eAudiobook Series on Overdrive!”