Library Reads: Books to start 2019

What could be better than a list of 10 librarian-recommended books coming out in the next month? A list of 14 is the answer to that question.

For January, in addition to the Library Reads Top Ten (books voted on by librarians across the U.S.), we’re highlighting four additional books from the Library Reads “Hall of Fame,” which means these authors have made the Top Ten List multiple times.  For the Hall-of-Fame authors’ titles, we’ve also included “read alikes,” or, rather, suggested books if you’re already a fan of that author.

Here are the Top Ten Library Reads picks for January 2019:

Continue reading “Library Reads: Books to start 2019”

Library Reads: May 2018 books

Psychogical suspense, historical fiction, thrillers, fantasy and general fiction — 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. nominated as their top picks for May 2018. We await your holds!

Furyborn by Claire Legrand: Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games. ~ Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Continue reading “Library Reads: May 2018 books”

Five horror novels to read now

Why wait until everyone else is looking for ghost stories and horror to enjoy the gothic, the ghoulish and the ghastly? We see a big uptick in horror readers in October, but YOU can get ahead of the curve by diving into horror novels right now, mid April, when the days are getting longer (sunset today is at 7:51 p.m.!) and your body is enjoying replenished stores of vitamin D.

Our librarians chose some recent horror novels, published between 2016 and 2018, for just this purpose. You’ll see how the Donner Party can get even creepier, find out what havoc a Frankenstein-esque mindset can do in Baghdad, and keep the pages turning while the heart is pounding.

Continue reading “Five horror novels to read now”