Naomi Shihab Nye shares her Nightstand Reads

Internationally beloved poet Naomi Shihab Nye, who is coming to Seattle September 19 for a SAL event, shares a mix of her recent favorites in fiction, memoir, nonfiction and poetry.

Nye is the author and/or editor of more than 30 volumes, including  19 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East (a finalist for the National Book Award), A Maze Me: Poems for Girls, and You & Yours. Her latest book for adults, The Tiny Journalist, is a collection inspired by seven-year-old Janna Tamimi, the “Youngest Journalist in Palestine,” who captured videos of anti-occupation protests with her mother’s smartphone.

Thanks to Naomi Shihab Nye for sharing her recommendations!

There There by Tommy Orange
Wow. Just wow. Have had to read very slowly because each scene and character is so absorbing and there is so much to think about.

The Long Take, Or, A Way to Lose More Slowly by Robin Robertson
Since “the short take” is exhausting most of us, this vivid “longer take” in narrative poem-form, from another time in history, by one of the world’s great poets originally from Scotland, is most appreciated.

Healing the Divide, Poems of Kindness and Connection, edited by James Crews, preface by Ted Kooser
Essential book of the season. Read again and again for sustenance.

The Words of My Father: Love and Pain in Palestine by Yousef Bashir
An exquisitely written, heartbreaking memoir which should be required reading for the American government as well as human beings interested in how people treat one another.

Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide by Tony Horwitz
Incredibly ambitious, delightfully readable journey paralleling the travels of Frederick Law Olmsted.  You will learn more from this big thick book than from a whole history class. We had dinner with Tony when he came through Texas on his expedition and it’s devastating entirely that he died on his book tour. What a force!

And Now You Can Go by Vendela Vida
I would read anything by Vendela Vida.

Real American: A Memoir by Julie Lythcott-Haims
After hearing this writer give the most stunning presentation of the entire Sun Valley Writers Conference, it’s amazing to get more background and details of her life. Highly recommended.

Posted by Linda J. 

Library Reads: Books to start 2019

What could be better than a list of 10 librarian-recommended books coming out in the next month? A list of 14 is the answer to that question.

For January, in addition to the Library Reads Top Ten (books voted on by librarians across the U.S.), we’re highlighting four additional books from the Library Reads “Hall of Fame,” which means these authors have made the Top Ten List multiple times.  For the Hall-of-Fame authors’ titles, we’ve also included “read alikes,” or, rather, suggested books if you’re already a fan of that author.

Here are the Top Ten Library Reads picks for January 2019:

Continue reading “Library Reads: Books to start 2019”

Library Reads: May 2018 books

Psychogical suspense, historical fiction, thrillers, fantasy and general fiction — 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. nominated as their top picks for May 2018. We await your holds!

Furyborn by Claire Legrand: Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games. ~ Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Continue reading “Library Reads: May 2018 books”

Five horror novels to read now

Why wait until everyone else is looking for ghost stories and horror to enjoy the gothic, the ghoulish and the ghastly? We see a big uptick in horror readers in October, but YOU can get ahead of the curve by diving into horror novels right now, mid April, when the days are getting longer (sunset today is at 7:51 p.m.!) and your body is enjoying replenished stores of vitamin D.

Our librarians chose some recent horror novels, published between 2016 and 2018, for just this purpose. You’ll see how the Donner Party can get even creepier, find out what havoc a Frankenstein-esque mindset can do in Baghdad, and keep the pages turning while the heart is pounding.

Continue reading “Five horror novels to read now”