Library Reads: May 2018 books

Psychogical suspense, historical fiction, thrillers, fantasy and general fiction — 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. nominated as their top picks for May 2018. We await your holds!

Furyborn by Claire Legrand: Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games. ~ Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Continue reading “Library Reads: May 2018 books”

Five horror novels to read now

Why wait until everyone else is looking for ghost stories and horror to enjoy the gothic, the ghoulish and the ghastly? We see a big uptick in horror readers in October, but YOU can get ahead of the curve by diving into horror novels right now, mid April, when the days are getting longer (sunset today is at 7:51 p.m.!) and your body is enjoying replenished stores of vitamin D.

Our librarians chose some recent horror novels, published between 2016 and 2018, for just this purpose. You’ll see how the Donner Party can get even creepier, find out what havoc a Frankenstein-esque mindset can do in Baghdad, and keep the pages turning while the heart is pounding.

Continue reading “Five horror novels to read now”

The 2016 Elections: Library Resources

The mission of The Seattle Public Library is to bring people, information and ideas together to enrich lives and build community. We value equality, inclusion and openness and strive to be welcoming safe spaces. No matter what the current events are locally and beyond, the Library provides a collection of materials to patrons of all ages, backgrounds, and opinions. Over the last few weeks, library staff have answered many people’s questions about the recent elections and helped them with finding information. Below you will find some lists created by librarians at The Seattle Public Library to address topics we’ve been asked a lot about lately.

Continue reading “The 2016 Elections: Library Resources”

David Bowie’s Favorite Books, at your library.

david-bowie-books-460x420Music legend, movie star, icon, iconoclast, and yes – reader. As part of the Victoria and Albert Museum’s 2013 exhibit “David Bowie Is,” Bowie shared an eclectic list of 100 favorite books. Here they are, in reverse chronological order, linked to the library catalog. Still looking for a reading challenge for the next year, or five? This could be your year of reading like Bowie. (Titles we don’t currently own are denoted with an *asterisk).

Here are some films featuring David Bowie, and here are some books about him.

73f9d46a9b7f47260d5799c6012734ab

    – Posted by David W.

 

 

Money Smart Week at the Library, April 18-28

Money Smart Week logoInterested in learning how to live within a monthly budget, manage debt and maintain good credit, and more? Come check out our Money Smart Week programs! As part of the national Money Smart Week movement, which you can check out at moneysmartweek.org, The Seattle Public Library has offerings including:

There will also be blog posts each day next week with great content, and displays at many branches with handouts and books to jump-start your financial resolutions.

To kick off the week, we’ve created a list for you on the Top Ten Ways Your Library Card Can Save You Money. Check it out, along with the other great resources we’re hosting!