Book Bingo: Young Adult Book

Join The Seattle Public Library and Seattle Arts & Lectures for our 2nd annual Summer Book Bingo for adults! Follow us throughout the summer for reading suggestions based on each category.

YAEven if I wasn’t a Young Adult librarian, I would still read tons of YA literature.  While I love the maturity and intellectual demands of adult literary fiction, sometimes a YA novel just hits that sweet spot of delivering a fully satisfying read that is challenging and fresh, yet doesn’t require too much time or mental energy to complete. Continue reading “Book Bingo: Young Adult Book”

A book to make you smile

Lately, I’ve kept a copy of Learning to Love You More by Harrell Fletcher and Miranda July at the information desk to take a quick peek at when I’m feeling blue. Like Truc, I’m a shelf browser and, yes, I originally picked it for the cover. But one curious flip through its pages and I was hooked. Using writing, art and photos, people from all over the world complete assignments such as these:

Assignment 50: Take a flash photo under your bed.

Assignment 60: Write a press release about an everyday event.

Assignment 9: Draw a constellation from someone’s freckles.

And my personal favorite – Assignment 30: Take a picture of strangers holding hands.

I won’t give away any more; you’ll need to read the book to see what it’s all about. For fans of Postsecret, Found and Free Hugs, or for anyone who needs a little more faith in humanity—and really, who doesn’t these days? —this book is for you.