Science Fiction 4 All Seasons

Four Science Fiction eAudiobooks featuring four different styles of Science Fiction stories. Happy listening!

Anne Manx in Lives of the Cat by Larry Weiner, read by Claudia Christian and Patricia Tallman

[Science Fiction Noir] For fans of Science Fiction Radio Serials
Anne Manx is an honest detective, maybe the last one remaining in the star system. And because of this, when a sudden insurrection within the police force puts the entire system on the edge of anarchy, she finds herself on the wrong end of a gun barrel. But this is not where Anne Manx’s story ends. For this end is merely a beginning, and like the mythical cat with nine lives, Anne Manx is one hard cat to kill. A fast-paced romp through space full of campy fun, this fully-staged radio production is an homage to radio serials of old, like Buck Rogers and Flash Gordon, mixed with the satirical adult humor of Barbarella.

Armada by Ernest Cline, read by Wil Wheaton

[Science Fiction] For fans of Ready Player One, Ender’s Game, and all things growing up in the 80’s
From the team that brought you the new sci-fi cult classic novel and audiobook, Ready Player One, author Ernest Cline and narrator Wil Wheaton, have reteamed to create another ode to the 80’s in Armada! This fast-paced science fiction adventure is the perfect blend of two 80’s Sci-Fi classics, Jonathan R. Betuel’s film, The Last Starfighter and Orson Scott Card’s novel, Ender’s Game. High school senior Zack Lightman is doing what he does most days in class, staring out the window and daydreaming, when suddenly he sees something that he certainly couldn’t have seen. If you asked him what he saw, he wouldn’t tell you. Absolutely not. Because if he did, you’d think he was going crazy. Just like his dearly departed dad. Because, what he saw in the sky that day wasn’t a bird, or a plane, or even a super-man, but a spaceship. A very specific spaceship, as a matter of fact. A spaceship from his favorite game, Armada. But that can’t be right. Because that would be crazy. Continue reading “Science Fiction 4 All Seasons”

Four Flights of Fantasy for Your Listening Pleasure

Tired of looking longingly out your window while stuck inside? Then escape into these fantastic worlds each offering endless hours of aural pleasure! Each of these first books in their respective series represent a different flavor in the enormous fantasy pie. Have a slice, or better yet try them all! Happy listening.

 The Belgariad Series by David Eddings, read by Cameron Beierle

Book 1: Pawn of Prophecy

[Epic Fantasy] For fans of classic Epic Fantasies featuring Good vs Evil and a band of adventurers on an epic quest like The Lord of the Rings and the Shannara series.
This epic fantasy classic is filled to the brim with all of the tropes and archetypes that have come to define the epic fantasy genre. The book opens with an excerpt from an ancient text- a historical accounting of sorcerers and magic, gods and mortals, and a wondrous orb of untold power. Then the story begins in earnest on a small farm in a serene countryside. There an orphan boy named Garion is about to take his first steps towards fulfilling his destiny. On his journey, fraught with danger and secrets waiting to be revealed, he will be guided by his Aunt Pol, an old vagrant storyteller who he calls Mister Wolf, and an ever-growing cast of adventurers. Following in the footsteps of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Fellowship of the Ring and Terry Brooks’ The Sword of Shannara, David Eddings’ The Pawn of Prophecy rightfully takes its place on the shelf aside those masterworks of epic fantasy. Continue reading “Four Flights of Fantasy for Your Listening Pleasure”

Try these Children’s eAudiobook Series on Overdrive!

Stuck inside and looking for entertainment the whole family can enjoy? Try these three outstanding eAudiobook series available on Overdrive!

Alcatraz Series, Book 1: Alcatraz vs The Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson, read by Ramon De Ocampo

[Children’s Fantasy, Humor] For fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch

Alcatraz Smedry isn’t just some kid. Growing up in multiple foster homes, he has found that he has a knack for breaking things. No, he REALLY BREAKS THINGS. He’ll break the toaster he’s trying to use, he’ll break the counter the toaster sits on, heck, he’ll even break the kitchen! He even broke a chicken once – don’t ask. It’s not like he means to break things. He just can’t control it…but what if he could? What if he was secretly a member of a royal family of all powerful Smedrys? Each with their own unique abilities, waiting to be harnessed for the good of the world! Wouldn’t he have learned about this already? Well, not if the secret society of Librarians who secretly rule the world would have anything to say about it! Did I mention they are Evil Librarians? At least they are according to this old man he has just met, who claims to be his grandfather. Continue reading “Try these Children’s eAudiobook Series on Overdrive!”

Always Open: Fictional Libraries and Bookstores

While we all ache and yearn to return to the dusty stacks where we find so much enjoyment, enlightenment, and entertainment, here are a selection of available eAudiobooks featuring Libraries and Bookstores that are always open!

Midnight at Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew Sullivan, read by Madeleine Maby
This dark and suspenseful thriller starts with a suicide in the Bright Ideas Bookstore. When clerk Lydia Smith discovers the body of one of her favorite patrons inside the bookstore, she begins to unravel the puzzle behind the young man’s suicide and finds that he is somehow linked to her own disturbing and violent past- much of which has remained unsolved.
[Thriller]

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan, read by Ari Fliakos
Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore is not at all what it seems. From the outside what merely appears to be an old used bookstore is in reality a repository for centuries old secrets. New clerk Clay Jannon is determined to decipher the clues found in the books within to finally bring these ancient secrets to light. An ode to the love of books and bookstores, Robin Sloan blends old knowledge and technology to craft a wondrous adventure spanning the invention of the printing press to the present day.
[Fiction] Continue reading “Always Open: Fictional Libraries and Bookstores”

The Beauty of Browsing

Victor Gischler. Not a name I was familiar with before I happened upon Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse while shelving at my branch. The neon-orange lettering of the title along with the stark contrast of bomb-blast vs. babe gracing the cover really drew my eye and I just had to check it out. I’m not going to get into what the book is about, but rather I just want to talk about the experience of finding a good read when we least expect it. This kind of serendipitous discovery can often occur while browsing through the stacks of your local library. Sometimes the best books are discovered when they aren’t the ones we are looking for. Continue reading “The Beauty of Browsing”