New Nonfiction Roundup – March 2018

Historical narratives set in remote locations. Inspiring stories of the pursuit for peace, justice and equality. Examinations on the perils of authoritarianism. Cookbooks galore. All these, and more, await you this March!

3/5: The People vs. Democracy by Yascha Mounk. The author cautions that freedom is at stake in a world increasingly led by populist leaders. Will be at the Central Library on March 15th!

3/6: Always Delicious by David Ludwig. This companion to Always Hungry contains over 100 recipes for those frustrated with typical diet cookbooks.

3/6: Brain Food by Lisa Mosconi. Neuroscience meets nutrition in this book designed to improve cognition.

3/6: Can It Happen Here? by Cass Sunstein. The author’s answer to Sinclair Lewis’s novel It Can’t Happen Here is yes, authoritarianism can happen in America. Continue reading “New Nonfiction Roundup – March 2018”

New Fiction Roundup – February 2018

From historical fiction to romance, mystery, and more, check out this selection of new titles coming out in February.

2/6: An American Marriage by Tayari Jones – Newlyweds Roy and Celestial are navigating their first year of marriage when Roy is sent to prison for a crime he didn’t commit. Eventually exonerated, Roy returns to a different home than he left. A novel that examines love, family, loyalty, and issues of race. A Peak Pick selection; look for it on display at your library branch!

2/6: Asymmetry by Lisa Halliday –Halliday weaves together the story of a young American editor in love with a famous older writer, and the story of an Iraqi-American man on his way to Kurdistan and stuck in an immigration holding room in Heathrow airport.

2/6: Back Talk by Danielle Lazarin – A collection of stories about women’s unexpressed desires and needs, and the unexpected Continue reading “New Fiction Roundup – February 2018”

New Nonfiction Roundup – January 2018

Start the new year with a host of self-improvement books, provocative essay collections on race, and a trio of true crime tales from James Patterson.

1/2: Achtung Baby by Sara Zaske. Discover the parenting secrets of Germans from an American journalist who moved to Berlin. Continue reading “New Nonfiction Roundup – January 2018”

New fiction roundup – January 2018

1/2: The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn – Recluse Anna Fox stays in her New York apartment, drinking wine, watching old movies, and spying on neighbors. Then she sees something shocking happen with the new family across the way. Twisty psychological suspense for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train. Continue reading “New fiction roundup – January 2018”

New Nonfiction Roundup – December 2017

Get a head start on 2018 with host of health, fitness and self-improvement books.  A pair of essays from great thinkers and a pair of memoirs from fierce survivors round out December.

12/5: Bobby Flay Fit: Food for a Healthy Lifestyle by Bobby Flay. The popular chef returns with a new cookbook for people interested in healthy foods that don’t sacrifice flavor.

12/5: Brunch is Hell: How to Save the World by Throwing a Dinner Party by Brendan Francis Newman & Rico Galliano. The hosts of NPR’s Dinner Party Download eschew leisurely brunches for lively dinner parties. Continue reading “New Nonfiction Roundup – December 2017”