Library Reads: New Books for August

Ten books coming in August 2018, chosen by librarians across the U.S. You’ll find more librarian-recommended fiction and nonfiction featured in previous Library Reads lists. (Insider tips: Go back a few months for a better chance of finding a book without a holds list. And, of course, place holds on forthcoming books each month when we publish new Library Reads posts here on Shelf Talk.) Continue reading “Library Reads: New Books for August”

Library Reads: New Books for June 2018

Looking for some late spring and summer books? Here are 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. are super excited about — and now you can put them on hold.

Continue reading “Library Reads: New Books for June 2018”

Library Reads: May 2018 books

Psychogical suspense, historical fiction, thrillers, fantasy and general fiction — 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. nominated as their top picks for May 2018. We await your holds!

Furyborn by Claire Legrand: Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games. ~ Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Continue reading “Library Reads: May 2018 books”

Library Reads: 10 Books for April

Nine works of fiction and one memoir you don’t want to miss. Time to place holds on books coming in April!

Circe by Madeline Miller (fiction)
Circe follows the banished witch daughter of the Titans as she practices her powers for an inevitable conflict with one of Olympus’s most vindictive gods. I found myself pondering motherhood, mortality, and feminism. For readers of historical and mythological drama or anyone who loves a strong female lead. ~ McKelle George, Salt Lake City Public Library, Salt Lake, UT Continue reading “Library Reads: 10 Books for April”

Library Reads: Top 10 Books for March 2018

Librarians across the U.S. voted for their favorite new books coming out next month. And here they are, the Library Reads Top Ten for March 2018!

Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh
For readers who enjoyed Mackintosh’s I Let You Go and I See You, you most certainly will enjoy her latest suspenseful thrill ride. Anna has been struggling to get on with her life after her parents’ suicides when she starts to receive clues that maybe her parents did not carry out the heinous act that everyone believed they committed. — KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT Continue reading “Library Reads: Top 10 Books for March 2018”