Library Reads: New books for October!

We usually start these Library Reads monthly posts by saying “10 books librarians across the U.S. love …” But for October — you, dear readers, get 11 new books because there’s a bonus “Hall of Fame Author” included this month.  AND four of these titles — from Tana French, Barbara Kingsolver, Susan Orlean, Jodi Picoult — will be in our October Peak Picks collections at all our branches. (Peak Picks = No holds, no wait. Look for the display at your favorite branch!)

And here are the 11 new books for October 2018’s Library Reads:

The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory:  A disastrous public wedding proposal results in a chance meeting between Nik and Carlos. What follows is a delightfully humorous and sweet story about two people falling for each other while remaining seemingly unaware of their blossoming romance. The book sets itself apart by portraying a self-aware, feminist woman who enjoys positive relationships with female friends. An engaging and upbeat multicultural romance. ~ LaNiesha Bowles, Boston Public Library, Boston, MA Continue reading “Library Reads: New books for October!”

Library Reads for September 2018

New novels from Kate Atkinson and Gary Shteyngart, a new book in the October Daye series by local fantasy author Seanen McGuire, and another installment in a mystery series set in a library (by Jenn McKinlay) — plus six more books librarians across the U.S. are excited to see on the shelves next month.

Continue reading “Library Reads for September 2018”

Library Reads: New Books for August

Ten books coming in August 2018, chosen by librarians across the U.S. You’ll find more librarian-recommended fiction and nonfiction featured in previous Library Reads lists. (Insider tips: Go back a few months for a better chance of finding a book without a holds list. And, of course, place holds on forthcoming books each month when we publish new Library Reads posts here on Shelf Talk.) Continue reading “Library Reads: New Books for August”

Library Reads: New Books for June 2018

Looking for some late spring and summer books? Here are 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. are super excited about — and now you can put them on hold.

Continue reading “Library Reads: New Books for June 2018”

Library Reads: May 2018 books

Psychogical suspense, historical fiction, thrillers, fantasy and general fiction — 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. nominated as their top picks for May 2018. We await your holds!

Furyborn by Claire Legrand: Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games. ~ Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Continue reading “Library Reads: May 2018 books”