Library Reads for April 2019

Ten books coming in April that librarians across the US are loving.

Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly
The Ferriday family (The Lilac Girls) returns in this story of love, loss, and triumph. The voices of four compelling female characters tell of the devastating effects of the Russian Revolution and World War I. Highly recommended for book clubs and fans of Anthony Doerr, Susan Meissner, and Lauren Belfer. ~ Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME Continue reading “Library Reads for April 2019”

Library Reads for March 2019

Here’s a list of 12 novels releasing in March that librarians across the United States are recommending. And because librarians made this list, you’ll also find a “read-alike” entry at the end of each description. Why a read-alike? They work two ways: If you recognize the suggested read-alike title as one you enjoyed before, it lets you know that this new title is one you might like, too. The other way read-alikes are helpful is that they tend to be older and more widely available titles. If there’s a long wait list for the featured title, and it sounds like the perfect book for you, the suggested read-alike may be something you’d also like — and can get quickly. You’ll notice that in the descriptions for the new 2019 books that librarians often add a line along the same lines, such as “if you liked Gillian Flynn, try this one.” In a nutshell, this monthly list has solid recommendations, with insightful guidance for a variety of reading tastes.

Continue reading “Library Reads for March 2019”

Big Golden Books for February

While many books each year have “golden” in the title, these three novels caught my eye. Each had substantial pre-publication buzz and excitement, and all three are out in the world this month. Take a look at these highly anticipated books:

Golden State by Ben H. Winters: Set in the near future, California is a sovereign state where telling a lie can land you in jail.  “Winters has a knack for creating appealing detective fictions that skew reality in thought-provoking ways, producing a hybrid of the familiar and the uncanny,” says a review in the Washington Post. A strong speculative and literary author, you may already know Winters for  Underground Airlines as well as The Last Policeman trilogy.  See also this article about the book from NPR from Feb. 10, 2019. Golden State is a new Peak Pick this month! Continue reading “Big Golden Books for February”

Library Reads: 10 new books for February

This month’s Library Reads feature a twisty psychological thriller, historical fiction, a graphic memoir, and the newest from Seattle author Tara Conklin. Take a look!

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Continue reading “Library Reads: 10 new books for February”

Books Coming to the Big Screen in 2019

Two quintessential Seattle novels — Where’d You Go, Bernadette and The Art of Racing in the Rain — are coming to a movie theatre near you in 2019! Some scenes for Bernadette were filmed at our Central Library (and, yes, Cate Blanchette was there, AT OUR LIBRARY!). We can’t wait to see if we made the final cut.

Many other books have been adapted for the screen and will make their debut in 2019, and we’ve listed 10 here with links to the books that inspired them. Time to read and re-read some of these treasures:

The Rhythm Section (opening Feb. 22)
The Book: The Rhythm Section by Mark Burnell.
College student Stephanie Patrick’s life is destroyed after the crash of flight NEO027; her family was on board and there were no survivors. She spins out of control until a reporter discovers the crash was not an accident and Stephanie finds a new focus: revenge.
The Film: Directed by Reed Morano; stars Blake Lively, Jude Law. Continue reading “Books Coming to the Big Screen in 2019”