WA Do I Read Next? (Part 3)

In the final post of our trilogy of WA Do I Read Next suggestions, we share a few more recently published titles by local authors. (For more, see this Here is  list of many of the books we talked about at this year’s online conference.

Conventionally Yours, by Annabeth Albert (Sourcebooks) This is a sweet, new-adult M/M romance with YA crossover appeal. Conrad Stewart has classically handsome looks, but his hunky exterior hides the fact that he is living life on a knife edge ever since his parents threw him out for being gay. He finds community in a group at a game store where one of his professors runs a tight crew of tabletop enthusiasts. But he does not get along with another fellow college student in the crew–Alden Roth, an uptight rich kid born with everything handed to him. Alden is always giving Conrad crap, and that they are competing on more than one level doesn’t help. But when the opportunity to compete at a national con presents itself, a road trip opens up the stories beneath their assumptions, and the ice starts to thaw. A slow burn enemies to lovers rom com. Continue reading “WA Do I Read Next? (Part 3)”

WA Do I Read Next? (Part 2)

Here is the continuation of last week’s WA Do I Read Next post, in which we share a few more recently published titles by local authors shared at this year’s Washington Library Association meeting. (For more, see this Here is  list of many of the books we talked about at this year’s online conference. We Had No Rules, by Corinne Manning (Arsenal Pulp Press) Manning is a non-binary Seattle writer whose debut short story collection feels like a novel in stories, with recurring characters exploring queer lives with intimacy, insight, and humor. The prose is simple yet evocative. Relationships are central to these stories–exploring marriage, parenting, the dissolution of relationships, and the never-ending work of discovering the self. There is the story of a woman who embraces her queer self after divorce, her daughter who is also queer but does not identify with her mother because she is a daddy’s girl still upset about the divorce, a trans character who has to leave his partner to transition–all of the stories coalescing into a beautiful symphony of people striving, yearning for love and connection and communities that uplift them. Continue reading “WA Do I Read Next? (Part 2)”

WA Do I Read Next? (Part 1)

The Washington Library Association met online this year instead of in Spokane. Most years there is a panel focused on Washington authors with the cheeky title “WA Do I Read Next?” This year I had the pleasure of joining this panel event online with other librarians and local authors to celebrate recently published books by authors from our fair state.

Here is a list of many of the books we talked about in this panel, and here are just some of the books I had the honor of sharing with the audience:

88 Namesby Matt Ruff
The new HBO show Lovecraft Country produced by Jordan Peele and Misha Green may have brought more attention to Matt Ruff, but he has been quietly writing smart, genre-bending stories for years now. 88 Names is a riff on virtual reality, where John Chu makes his living as a “sherpa” in Multi-player Role Playing Games, where the rich come to rack up points and prestige fast. This is an offbeat cyber-thriller for fans of Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One and Ready Player Two. Continue reading “WA Do I Read Next? (Part 1)”

Nightstand Reads with author Sara Donati

Where the Light Enters is the latest from Sara Donati, a bestselling author known for her riveting and well-researched historical novels. We asked her to share her own reading list with us:

I read a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction out of personal interest and professional necessity. My novels are deeply researched, so I spend a lot of time reading medical texts and government reports written before 1890.  But I also read contemporary and historical fiction of all stripes, from noir crime to romance to short story collections. Ancient Rome, modern-day Detroit, Victorian England, WWII China are all welcome.

If I continue thinking about a book long after I’ve finished it, I consider it time well spent. Here are some of my recent discoveries.

Good and Mad: The Revolutionary Power of Women’s Anger
by Rebecca Traister
There is a lot to be angry about. Traister’s book came out just after Dr. Christine Blasey Ford testified, and it reminded me that women’s anger, once focused, is hugely powerful. It has launched movements and revolutions that have changed the world for the better. Continue reading “Nightstand Reads with author Sara Donati”

Book Bingo: Set in the Northwest

   – Posted by Misha

Book Bingo Set in NWThis summer The Seattle Public Library, in partnership with Seattle Arts & Lectures, is excited to offer a summer reading program for adults called Summer Book Bingo! In order to help you along on your quest to complete your bingo sheet, we have pulled together some book suggestions based on each category. Stay tuned for more throughout the summer!

There are so many great books set in the Northwest. I mean, who wouldn’t want to write or read about our majestic evergreens, white-capped mountain ranges and superior cups of coffee? If you are trying to cross this category off your summer bingo card, here are some under-the-radar NW set books to try:

22320471The Sasquatch Hunter’s Almanac by Sharma Shields: This debut by a Spokane author following three generations in a Washington State family is told with some mind-bending slipstream weirdness. And it starts with a bang: 9-year-old Eli Roebuck comes home one day to find his mother with a sasquatch. She leaves with the hairy beast and never comes back. Things just get stranger and more compelling from there. Continue reading “Book Bingo: Set in the Northwest”