Upcoming Author Events for February

Check out these upcoming events with Livewire’s hosts Hameister and Burbank, open mic readings at the Columbia and Ballard Branches, Phillip H. Hoffman, Director of the Alki History Project, discusses the story of the Town of Alki at the Southwest Library, and Ginger Gaffney discusses their memoir.

The free programs listed below are held at a variety of library locations in February; please check our online Author and Books Events calendar for complete details on these featured events and more.

Writers Read
Sunday, February 9 at 2 p.m.
Columbia Branch
Join us for a monthly reading series featuring an open mic and selected author readings from local writers. Local writers will read from their diverse repertoires of poetry, short stories, novels and essays. The event will end with a Q&A session, followed by an open mic session.

Courtenay Hameister and Luke Burbank talk about 'Okay Fine Whatever'Courtenay Hameister and Luke Burbank talk about ‘Okay Fine Whatever’
Wednesday, February 12 at 7 p.m.
Central Library
Join us to hear Livewire’s hosts Hameister and Burbank talk about Okay Fine Whatever, Hameister’s hilarious account of facing her fears. Refreshing, relatable, and pee-your-pants funny, Okay Fine Whatever is Courtenay’s hold-nothing-back account of her adventures on the front lines of Mere Human Woman vs. Fear, reminding us that even the tiniest amount of bravery is still bravery, and that no matter who you are, it’s possible to fight complacency and become bold, or at least bold-ish, a little at a time. Continue reading “Upcoming Author Events for February”

Author Event and Cooking Demo at the Lake City Branch

Click here to view Fresh Pantry in the SPL catalogCome meet local author, cook and urban farmer, Amy Pennington as she discusses her new book Fresh Pantry: Eat Seasonally, Cook Smart & Learn to Love Your Vegetables at the Lake City branch and shares the bounty of fresh tomatoes.  She will demonstrate recipes and share samples from her newest book using tomatoes fresh from the Lake City Farmers Market. Copies of her book will be available for purchase and she will sign your copy. The event takes place on Thursday, August 14 from 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Continue reading “Author Event and Cooking Demo at the Lake City Branch”

Labor in Film: We Are Wisconsin

laborIn late winter of 2011, while the Middle East was deep in the midst of the “Arab Spring,” United States workers in the state of Wisconsin found themselves embroiled in a take-down struggle with Governor Scott Walker and the Wisconsin Legislature to preserve their collective bargaining rights. Continue reading “Labor in Film: We Are Wisconsin”

Science On Tap – Brains and Brew in Seattle

science-lab-equipment-used-by-creative-commons-license-from-furcafe.jpg

 Brains and Brew – a perfect combination in this city of microbrewers and techies.  I am a huge fan of science writing in the vein of Stephen J. Gould, Carl Sagan and E. O. Wilson.  The only drawback I’ve ever found to science books is the lack of immediacy.  It takes years for a scientist to do the work, write up the results, get those results peer reviewed and then, hopefully, write about their research in an exciting and approachable popular format.  And in this impatient world I want to know about the interesting research NOW!

Along comes Science on Tap. Sit down in a local pub with a beer or a cup of coffee and listen to working scientists from all over the scientific map discuss their current work.  It doesn’t get much more immediate or more interesting.  And it’s totally nonthreatening.  Just a bunch of  brainy folks chatting about an interesting topic over a few drinks at their local.

Of course, if you would rather read about the interesting discoveries or grand unified theories of everything I’ve got some suggestions.