A book to make you smile

Lately, I’ve kept a copy of Learning to Love You More by Harrell Fletcher and Miranda July at the information desk to take a quick peek at when I’m feeling blue. Like Truc, I’m a shelf browser and, yes, I originally picked it for the cover. But one curious flip through its pages and I was hooked. Using writing, art and photos, people from all over the world complete assignments such as these:

Assignment 50: Take a flash photo under your bed.

Assignment 60: Write a press release about an everyday event.

Assignment 9: Draw a constellation from someone’s freckles.

And my personal favorite – Assignment 30: Take a picture of strangers holding hands.

I won’t give away any more; you’ll need to read the book to see what it’s all about. For fans of Postsecret, Found and Free Hugs, or for anyone who needs a little more faith in humanity—and really, who doesn’t these days? —this book is for you.

Lose your job, not your mind

Laid off. Terminated. Made redundant. Let go. Separated.

You may feel like burying your face into the nearest cat and sobbing uncontrollably while consuming an entire pint of cookie dough ice cream. (No? Just me?) Trust me, all that gets you is a wet cat and a midnight stomachache.

Fear not, you’re not the only one out there feeling lost, hopeless, unneeded, useless and adrift (feel better yet?). The Seattle Public Library is here to help. Why shell out upwards of $500 on a career counselor when we have all the resources you need for free? Here are some of the ways to get you out of the Ben & Jerry’s and back on your feet:

Check out the Jobs and Education section. Located in each one of the branches, these shelves house the tools you need to take charge of your career. Just browsing the Southwest Branch, I found such gems as New Job, New You, Fired to Hired, Make Job Loss Work for You, Eliminated! Now What?, and my personal favorite, Thank You for Firing Me. These sections also have books on résumés, cover letters, interviewing techniques, college admissions, test preparation and more.

Attend a job skills class. The Seattle Public Library partners with WorkSource Continue reading “Lose your job, not your mind”

A Day in the Life with the New Catalog

A staff member’s day with the Library’s new catalog:

12:33 PM: While on a break, I want to do a quick post to my blog about a documentary I watched last night, but can’t remember the name. I type “dogs unconditional” into the new catalog’s search box and the film pops up as the very first result: My Dog, An Unconditional Love Story. I put a link to the item in my review, knowing it’s a permanent link that will never change.  While I’m at it, I add the review as a comment under the item in the catalog. Continue reading “A Day in the Life with the New Catalog”

In the South Park Stacks: Short & Sweet

The South Park Branch features staff and patron recommendations throughout the library, as displayed on plastic-encased shelf talkers. Here are a few to check out:

Petite Sweets by Beatrice Ojakangas
If you prefer your desserts to be “just a bite” Continue reading “In the South Park Stacks: Short & Sweet”

How to plan a wedding without losing your mind

Sorry. Not possible. Next post.

No, I’m kidding; you won’t lose your mind. Just everyone else’s who has to listen to you for the next several months. To mitigate that damage, here’s a few recommendations from someone who just wanted to elope but now finds herself planning not one but TWO ceremonies (one local, one destination, don’t ask). In other words, wedding planning books for people who hate planning weddings.

Miss Manners’ Guide to a Surprisingly Dignified Wedding by Judith and Jacobina Martin
No DJ? No dance floor? No stamped response card included in the invitiations?! This is not one of the nightmares you wake up from, frantic to re-check for the eighth time that your dinner napkins complement the color of your maid of honor’s third cousin’s wife’s eyes. Continue reading “How to plan a wedding without losing your mind”