Star Trek Geek Out: A Weekend of Star Trek Revelry

Star Trek Geek Out: A Weekend of Star Trek Revelry  Star Trek Geek Out: A Weekend of Star Trek Revelry  Star Trek Geek Out: A Weekend of Star Trek Revelry  Star Trek Geek Out: A Weekend of Star Trek Revelry

While the pop culture world is all aflutter about the new Star Wars, 2016 is sure to be the year of Star Trek. With a new Star Trek film forthcoming and in a year that marks the 50th anniversary of the original series, in 2016 it’s time to give Star Trek its due.

So, if you love Star Trek, you don’t want to miss this weekend in late January! EMP Museum and The Seattle Public Library are joining forces for a weekend celebrating Star Trek’s 50th anniversary. Join us at the Central Library for two days of Star Trek love featuring live performances, films and interviews with EMP. Costumes are encouraged and prizes will be awarded to best costumes! Continue reading “Star Trek Geek Out: A Weekend of Star Trek Revelry”

Science Fiction Fridays: Something in the Sky. Something BIG!

By Richard C.

Remember that huge cylinder hovering over Earth, desperately sucking up the ocean in search of long lost whales in Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home?

Well the “gigantic and probably dangerous object in the sky” theme makes great science fiction. No “take me to your leader” message here, folks, instead an unfathomable confrontation with an artifact that dwarfs your imagination. The best part is the mystery, knowing nothing about origins or destinations. But headlong into the dark unknown you go, reading below with these three works of something in the sky

Bowl of HeavenBOWL OF HEAVEN
By Larry Niven and Gregory Benford

Mysterious radio waves draw humanity’s first deep space mission, but mid-journey and thousands of light years from Earth crew members wake up to a surprise – through the view screen is a gigantic structure cupping an entire star. It’s as big as a million Earths, but does anybody live on this strange bowl-like structure? Or more importantly, will they like visitors? This is a fast moving, first installment of a series that’s sure to entertain. The sequel, Shipstar, just came out in 2014. Continue reading “Science Fiction Fridays: Something in the Sky. Something BIG!”

Science Fiction Fridays: Must-read books for the Trekkie in your life

best of all possible worlds karen lordThe Best of All Possible Worlds by Karen Lord
After their planet is destroyed, an alien race looks for help from humans and other races in the universe while struggling to keep their culture alive. A smart, moving novel that features alien species that will remind one of the Vulcans and Betans from Star Trek, but with their own twist. Fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and TNG will savor Lord’s book and her skill with characterization. Continue reading “Science Fiction Fridays: Must-read books for the Trekkie in your life”