Ten Non-Fiction Books We Loved in 2018

As the New Year approaches, join our librarians in looking back on our favorite reading of the year gone by. By popular acclaim, here are ten non-fiction titles that made the biggest impact on us in 2018. (Fiction and books for youth will follow in the days to come).

2018 was a huge year for books about society and politics, and while journalistic potboilers focused on the executive branch may have garnered all the hype, we think that long after most of these are forgotten, Jill Lepore’s magisterial and insightful These Truths: A History of the United States is likely to be stimulating and provoking conversation among readers. Likewise, Mona Hanna-Attisha’s gripping first-hand account of the Flint water crisis, What the Eyes Don’t See: A Story of Crisis, Resistance, and Hope in an American City, provides a powerful and inspiring account of the confluence of environmental and racial issues in America today. Continue reading “Ten Non-Fiction Books We Loved in 2018”

Library Reads: May 2018 books

Psychogical suspense, historical fiction, thrillers, fantasy and general fiction — 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. nominated as their top picks for May 2018. We await your holds!

Furyborn by Claire Legrand: Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games. ~ Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Continue reading “Library Reads: May 2018 books”

Library Reads: 10 Books for April

Nine works of fiction and one memoir you don’t want to miss. Time to place holds on books coming in April!

Circe by Madeline Miller (fiction)
Circe follows the banished witch daughter of the Titans as she practices her powers for an inevitable conflict with one of Olympus’s most vindictive gods. I found myself pondering motherhood, mortality, and feminism. For readers of historical and mythological drama or anyone who loves a strong female lead. ~ McKelle George, Salt Lake City Public Library, Salt Lake, UT Continue reading “Library Reads: 10 Books for April”

Library Reads: Top 10 Books for March 2018

Librarians across the U.S. voted for their favorite new books coming out next month. And here they are, the Library Reads Top Ten for March 2018!

Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh
For readers who enjoyed Mackintosh’s I Let You Go and I See You, you most certainly will enjoy her latest suspenseful thrill ride. Anna has been struggling to get on with her life after her parents’ suicides when she starts to receive clues that maybe her parents did not carry out the heinous act that everyone believed they committed. — KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT Continue reading “Library Reads: Top 10 Books for March 2018”

Our Top 10 Children’s Chapter Books, Poetry, and Graphic Novels of 2017

Yesterday, Children’s Services Librarians from The Seattle Public Library shared our favorite picture books of the year – and today, we want to share our ten favorites for children, in the “everything else” category!: chapter books, poetry, and graphic novels.  Enjoy!

Refugee by Alan Gratz
A gripping, timely novel that follows three children – from different time periods and continents – on their harrowing flights from violence and war, seeking refuge with their families. Continue reading “Our Top 10 Children’s Chapter Books, Poetry, and Graphic Novels of 2017”