Su casa es nuestra casa

You can never have too much sky

cover-of-house-on-mango-street-new-editionWhere has the time gone? It has been 25 years since the original publication of Sandra Cisneros’ The House on Mango Street, a book that time and time again has found its way from our hands to those of readers at our library. They might be a reader interested in Latino Fiction, or coming-of-age stories. Poetry lovers, or readers seeking a fresh voice in fiction. They might be well-off or poor, man or woman of any race or creed. They could be a teen, or even a child. Sometimes they are just learning to read, or just learning English. So many different readers find a place in Cisneros’ House, a little book with a huge heart and open arms.

Where do you live? she asked.
There, I said pointing up to the third floor.
You live there?
There.
I had to look where she pointed — the third floor, the paint peeling, wooden bars Papa had nailed on the windows so we wouldn’t fall out. You live there? The way she said it made me feel like nothing. There. I lived there. I nodded.

I knew then I had to have a house. A real house. One I could point to. But this isn’t it. The house on Mango Street isn’t it.

This Thursday, May 7, The Seattle Public Library is happy to be hosting Cisneros for a special reading of this, her most popular work. The event will be two blocks away at Town Hall, 1119 Eighth Avenue at Seneca Street. This is free, and no tickets or reservations are required, but seating is limited and available on a first-come first-served basis — so come early! Doors open at 6:15 p.m.

One day I’ll own my own house, but I won’t forget who I am or where I came from. Passing bums will ask, Can I come in? I’ll offer them the attic, ask them to stay, because I know how it is to be without a house.
Some days after dinner, guests and I will sit in front of a fire. Floorboards will squeak upstairs. The attic grumble.
Rats? they’ll ask.
Bums, I’ll say, and I’ll be happy.

image-of-a-stack-of-sandra-cisneros-books-courtesy-of-lamusaThe Seattle Public Library has many works by and about Sandra Cisneros.  Some favorites include Woman Hollering Creek, and Other Stories, Cisneros’ most recent novel Caramelo, or, Puro cuento, and the bilingual children’s book, Hairs/Pelitos.  Happy Cinco de Mayo!

 

                                                                                            ~ Valerie & David

One thought on “Su casa es nuestra casa”

  1. You woo-ed me over to House on Mango Street with that quoted passage! I’d known about the book and idly thought about picking it up, but I hadn’t known enough about it to really seek it out. Bums in the attic. How delightful.

Leave a comment