Library Reads: May 2018 books

Psychogical suspense, historical fiction, thrillers, fantasy and general fiction — 10 novels that librarians across the U.S. nominated as their top picks for May 2018. We await your holds!

Furyborn by Claire Legrand: Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games. ~ Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Continue reading

Posted in BOOKS, Fiction | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Awards that recognize fiction’s impact on society and culture

This past week two interesting, perhaps lesser-known book awards were given: The 83rd Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards and the inaugural Aspen Words Literary Prize.

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognize fiction, nonfiction and poetry books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and human diversity. The 2018 recipients are:

Fiction: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
Anisfield-Wolf juror Joyce Carol Oates called this combination road novel and ghost story “a beautifully rendered, heartbreaking, savage and tender novel.”

Continue reading

Posted in BOOKS, Fiction | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Friday the 13th: Stream the Screams

It’s Friday the 13th, which always makes me want to curl up with a good horror flick…or even a bad one. But I’m sure I’m not the only one, and DVD wait lists can sometimes crush those plans…however with our streaming services a horror flick is just a click away with your library card.

Want to get your horror fix without a wait list! Go to Kanopy and Hoopla to stream now!

My favorites from Kanopy:

What We Do In the Shadows – A great little horror comedy mockumentary from New Zealander’s Jemaine Clement and Taika Waititi who wrote, directed, and starred in the film.

“Housemates Viago, Deacon, and Vladislav are three vampires who are trying to get by in modern society; from paying rent and doing housework to trying to get invited into nightclubs. They are just like anyone else – except they’re immortal and must feast on human blood. When their 8000 year-old roommate Petyr, turns 20-something human hipster Nick, into a vampire, the guys must guide him through his newfound eternal life.”

Continue reading

Posted in CULTURE, Downloads, FILM & TV, Library Services | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Time to melt: National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day

Did you know that April 12 is National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day!?

Grilled cheese has always been one of my favorite comfort foods — and I know I’m not alone: People have been loving its ease and possibilities for nearly 100 years. “The United States modern version of the grilled cheese sandwich originated in the 1920’s when inexpensive sliced bread and American cheese became easily available. Originally it was made as an open-faced sandwich,” says the National Day Calendar.

Grilled cheese now is even better with experimentation, adding pesto and tomatoes, using sour dough and apple jelly, or adding chutney and brie. I used to love trying out the sale cheeses at QFC to see which ones made the best sandwich (Port Salut is my favorite). Then of course all the wonderful things you can dip it in…

Here are a few books in the library to get your grilled cheese experiment on:

Grilled Cheese Kitchen: Bread + Cheese + Everything in Between by Heidi Gibson

Melted cheese between slices of toasted bread — the ultimate in comfort food. This mouthwatering cookbook features 39 grilled cheese recipes created by Heidi Gibson, winner of seven grilled cheese championships and the co-owner (with husband Nate) of the American Grilled Cheese Kitchen in San Francisco.

 

Continue reading

Posted in BOOKS, Food and Gardening, Nonfiction | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Le Guin, Allende, Bradbury & More, This Spring at Thrilling Tales!

This Spring Thrilling Tales, the library’s popular story time for grown ups, is branching out with new monthly evening events in addition to our regular lunch hour gatherings. Now in its 15th year, the program celebrates the joy of story with live readings of compelling, intriguing, wondrous and suspenseful stories. Here’s what’s coming up in the months ahead.

Continue reading

Posted in CULTURE, Fantasy, Fiction, Library Events, LOCAL INTEREST, Mystery and Crime, Science Fiction, theater | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Happy National Bookmobile Day!

The Seattle Public Library Bookmobile Index

Years of continuous Bookmobile service in Seattle:  70

Total vehicles in Seattle Public Library’s Mobile Services’ fleet:  4 (1 walk-on bookmobile, 2 step vans, & 1 little van)

Age in years of oldest vehicle:  11

Number of bubble machines:  1

Total locations served each month:  116

Weight in pounds of the fully-loaded walk-on bookmobile: 9,500

Weight in pounds of a fully loaded book cart brought into assisted living facilities: 340

Items borrowed by Mobile Services patrons in 2017:  101,533

Number of items patrons unable to visit the library may receive by mail each month:  15

Number of homeless encampments the Bookmobile visits each month:  2

Happy National Bookmobile Day!

~ posted by Carrie F.

Posted in Library Services, local history | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Romance by authors of color

Over the past week, there’s been a spirited discussion on Romance Twitter (yes, it’s a thing) about the way the industry and publishers treat authors of color as well as readers of color. Authors told stories about being shunted to “ethnic” imprints, seeing books by white authors featuring characters of color with racist tropes in them, and, in one thoughtless thread, someone asked if people of color even wanted to read or write romance.

If you’re wondering how to find an author of color writing good romance, here are some great recent choices available at the Seattle Public Library:

Continue reading

Posted in BOOKS, Fiction, Romance | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment